Skip to content

Sensible

March 7, 2011

I sometimes wish sensibility didn’t ooze out of my pores. Whilst everyone else is blind drunk, i’m trying to work out how to get home; I’m working out where is the closest of everything. I cannot let go of my instincts.
This weekend, I went to the carneval in Dusseldorf and Cologne – Don’t even get me started; it wasn’t pretty. You know how brits behave abroad? Pretty much that. I wish I could have enjoyed it more, but I was too busy being embarrassed to death. Mind you, I was dressed as a smurf too, so it’s not like it would have mattered… Well apart from shouting brits on tour and getting chucked out of bars for flashing… Oh and they nearly got arrested for peeing on the street. Absolute hell. And refusing to speak German… Anyway, I have digressed. I feel too sensible – i wrote down a sheet for everyone telling them how to get home, complete with maps and all, but it’s not like they’d think of it. I feeel old before my time! It’s a littlw after 10pm and I’m thinking crikey it’s late – what has happened to me?! Next year at uni should be fun… Mind you, it’s not like I’m into the clubbing scene anyway!
So yes, whoever equipped me with so much common snese, er thank you…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2011 7:35 am

    That sounds like me… only the not being with people who are drunk. Maybe completely confused and on the young-ish side but not drunk. Maybe sensibility is a good thing? A lot of people seem to think so. Too bad we can’t share the sensibility, then we could all have a bit and we could all be happy.

  2. March 8, 2011 10:34 am

    hehee. We were out for Karnival in Malta/Gozo this weekend and there were smurfs there too.

    I know what you mean about being too sensible and old before your time. We left Gozo early when people were still arriving. We were the same at uni too. Hardly ever went out and preferred to just have friends around at home or whatever.

    It isn’t necessarily a bad thing. I can understand your disappointment at being unable to let go and enjoy yourself properly though.

    xx

  3. March 9, 2011 12:04 am

    Speaking as someone who spent YEARS learning German I agree how ridiculously disrespectful our nation can be when abroad. It’s embarrassing, occasionally amusing (granted) but mostly just embarrassing. And I speak as someone with a psychotic illness, somebody people avoid in the streets when I’m ill. Yet they are perfectly sane (apart from the influence of drink) and they do the stuff they do… it makes no sense

  4. March 20, 2011 10:30 am

    Sounds familiar, I can’t get drunk anymore, once I pass the point of tipsiness I usually magically find myself sneaking off home, for a bath, a kebab, and a book (not necessarily in that order)

    Used to feel guilty, now its the only reason I go out, nothing beats a kebab in the bath

Leave a Reply

