Skip to content

The week that was (an epic failure)

January 23, 2011

Oh deary, dear. This week has super exemplified my ditzyness.

On Thursday night I turned up an hour late to meet someone, because I’d somehow mixed up due to the German time system of ‘halb’ – they say half to… so halb 6 isn’t 6.30pm, but 5.30pm.

And then yesterday, we have the ditzyest ditz ever: I took the recycling downstairs, all fine, went to take out the general rubbish and… forgot to take my keys. Unfortunately, neither of my flatmates were in, and probably won’t be back until this evening. So I buzzed my flat for a while, because I thought one of them was in, seemingly not. So I sat on the set for a while, catastrophising. I contemplated going to someone’s house, but decided I didn’t want to disturb them (oh how I wish I had, especially as everyone I’ve seen has said that they would have willingly had me for the weekend…). So I buzzed some other flats in the building and got in through the main door and went to try and get into my own flat. I had nothing with me, not even my phone. I think even if I’d had that things would have been so difficult. I could have rung my landlord, my other flatmates, other people and got their advice, but no. So I tried kicking the door in, to no avail. So I sat on the step and cried for a while and tried to get the balls to go back to the people who’d let me in and ask if I could call a locksmith. We rang a locksmith, about 40 minutes later he turned up and very easily got in. Yay! And then the bombshell hit. I’d been thinking maybe 50€ to get in. But it being a weekend, then supplementary travel charges, work charges (despite it taking approx 2 mins to get in and work time is billed per half an hour…) so indeed. 238€ lighter I was. I don’t think the shock has hit yet. Disgusting! I am actually skint as. My german bank account already only had 16€ in it before this, because I paid for my French course last week… depressingly 238€ could get me 11 weeks of a french course, or back into my own flat.  So I had to withdraw the money from my english account (hello and goodbye student loan). I hope it isn’t the citalopram withdrawal that is making me so flippin’ ditzy!

1 week to pay day and counting. I have 10€ to last the week (as I can’t withdraw the 6€ from a cash machine, although I’m pretty convinced I withdrew from somewhere in 5€ denominations the other week…). 10€ is how much 2 drinks cost here in Frankfurt. Thank goodness I have some frozen veg, rice and pasta and vegetarianism on my side.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2011 4:49 pm

    my tablets make me relly dizzy and make me feel ill iff i come off them completly i want to come off them but i cant so i suppose ill just have to keep taking them at least you didnt get charged a fortune to get back in it cost me £80 down south when i locked myself out i was shocked at that and i still am

    • January 23, 2011 9:37 pm

      Err, I had to pay 238 euros… So around 200 pounds. Definitely not cheap.

  2. January 24, 2011 6:56 pm

    Eeeek – that’s an expensive mistake to make. Maybe (in a hindsight’s always 20/20 kind of way) get a spare set of keys cut and leave them with a nearby friend – I’ve got a set of mine at V Place. Not so much in case it happens, but because I feel less anxious I have a back-up plan… (it’s also in case I get stuck somewhere and need someone to feed the goos).

    If it is the Tally, then hopefully it’s a withdrawal effect that will be over soon.

    Take care,
    Differently

  3. January 25, 2011 9:15 pm

    I can’t believe how much that cost you! Not good at all.

    Diff has a point – a spare set of keys you could leave with someone or keep somewhere safe may be a good idea. Not much use now though.

    Hopefully the ditziness will ease up soon. I think everyone goes through forgetful periods, though I do think medication and mood certainly has an impact. I’ve been really forgetful lately too. I keep getting lost!

    xx

Leave a Reply

