Skip to content

Whay!

January 11, 2011

Just checking in, as I’m really tired and don’t have much to say.

Have been reducing tally from 40mg to 20mg (by cutting tablets in half – partly because I don’t really want to go to the doctors). Baby steps. 20mg is better than 40mg, right?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2011 10:10 pm

    ive reduced my tablet mitazapine form 45mg to 20my i just cut them in half i dont sleep as long then plus i seem ok on the 20mg

  2. Clarissa permalink
    January 12, 2011 12:18 am

    complicated. Be careful of side effects. Depending on what the half life of your meds are this could be too much too quick in terms of reduction. The smaller the increments the better.

    Are you really well enough to be reducing without gp supervision? Even if they don’t agree with your decision, they might be able to order you your meds in liquid form so that you really can reduce slowly…

    I would tell the gp anyway personally.

    Be safe: not all tablets can be cut safely like that: especially sustained release ones…

    • January 12, 2011 10:04 am

      It’s only citalopram, and they aren’t capsules, so that shouldn’t be a problem! My problem is that I don’t really have a GP here, and I don’t see anyone regularly due my complicated status in this country. I also don’t want to be referred on, which is what she tried to do last time, despite my being perfectly well. I read about withdrawal from citalopram and it seems that most people had problems going from 20mg downwards, so I’m thinking that perhaps I may just stick with 20mg for the time being (I reduced to 20mg about 10 days ago now and still have yet to feel any withdrawal symptoms. The half-life for citalopram is 35 hours, so I would have expected some form of problems by now, if it was going to be a problem?)

  3. Ms Leftie permalink
    January 16, 2011 6:58 pm

    Good on you be wary of the side effects, I am in the process of coming of Venlafaxine and it is going okay…

Leave a Reply

