Skip to content

Oh Christmas Tree, oh Christmas Tree

December 24, 2010

Let’s be honest here: I’m not a fan of Christmas. The idea of the over indulgence makes me wretch at the thought; the mindless consumerism and politics of it is disgusting and what’s more: it’s supposedly a Christian festival, yet everyone celebrates it – so why don’t we all non-religious folk celebrate Eid or Hannukah then? It’s nothing to do with my mood – I’m very, very well – nothing much doing on that front. Just exhausted, that’s all!
This year, I’m just glad to be home; I couldn’t give a toss about presents. There’s nothing I desperately want, and normally if I want something I’ve bought it already. Therefore it’s an excuse to get bought things I don’t really want, which is pretty pointless. I received some clothes the other year I picked out on a whim and have still hardly worn them – it’s pointless.
In other news: I weighed myself for the first time since I moved to Germany and weight has been substantially added on. Have I freaked? No. We have progress!
I suppose I should probably wish you all a Merry Christmas – enjoy your day!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 25, 2010 2:32 pm

    Welcome back to the UK and Merry Christmas – no what you mean – I’m stuck celebrating the damn thing, and it’s not even my religion… Still it’s one day a year – that’s what I keep telling myself…

    Take care,
    Differently

  2. December 25, 2010 4:16 pm

    Thanks! I hope you get away soon! We were just having a conversation about Kosher – trying to explain it to my grandad but he wasn’t for having any of it! I’m at my cousins’ / aunt’s and listening to my parents complain about avatar the film! Oh well, many many books to be read!

Leave a Reply

