Skip to content

Sitting Here

November 20, 2010

So, I’m sitting here, wondering what to write.

I’ve been ill (physically) quite a lot recently, which has been annoying; I’ve been getting into life here and now I’m cooped up inside whilst others are out.

I’ve not had much to do at work either, which means I’ve been keeping up with my news stories… always good for my German!

What can I say? I don’t know what to write. Writer’s block. But I’m still here, and that’s what counts.

Something did annoy me the other day though – we were watching some awards show on which Susan Boyle was performing. I didn’t know who she was at first – I’ve never seen a picture of her, despite having heard her name in the news before. So I was soon told, along with the fact that she’s ‘tapt’ and ‘mental’ due to the fact that she had a breakdown. I then began to wonder what they would say about me if they knew. Oh, if only they did.

Ironically that comment came from someone who works in a very high-stress environment. Will he be calling himself ‘tapt’ after he has a stress-induced breakdown in a few years? I doubt so. People need to learn.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2010 7:23 pm

    Glad you’re still around – sorry to hear about the physical ills. People need to learn, but they won’t…

    Take care,
    Differently

  2. November 23, 2010 3:55 pm

    Bah. I hate it when the physical is causing the problem not the mental. Bane of my life at the moment – damn side effects.

    Glad you have settled into German life a little better.

    Bah at the silly bloke too. Too many people are like that, especially in a corporate environment, but quite a few get a shock when it hits them. I don’t wish it upon anyone, but there’s still a little bit of satisfaction at the karma of that.

    Take care xx

  3. November 26, 2010 6:38 pm

    hope you feel better soon – get some tea inside you! xx

    • November 27, 2010 3:18 pm

      I will do – Just wee motivational issues 😉

Leave a Reply

