Skip to content

What happens at the doctors, stays at the doctors

October 9, 2010

…Or maybe not, as I’m choosing to write about it here!

My first comment is: Why can’t we have Doctors’ Surgeries in Gothic buildings, yet be exceptionally modern inside?!

As you’d expect, it was wonderfully efficient! I went in, signed my life away and waited to see the Doctor.

I went in and explained the situation. She looked a bit scared after reading the letter from the Mental Health Team (oops!) and said she wanted to refer me to a Neurologist (not a Psychiatrist?!), so she’d only give me a short prescription… which was 50 tablets! In England it’d be so much less than that…

However, in the end, she decided that it wouldn’t be necessary, as I looked okay (she didn’t ask any questions about my mood at all, which I found weird!). That, or she thought it would be too much effort to tell me how the referral system works – they seemingly give you a piece of paper and tell you to find a Doctor. In the end, I walked out with a prescription for 100 shiny citalopram tablets. Yay! Mission complete, or so I thought.

I went to the Chemist to get the tablets and was met with a look of confusion and was told it’d have to be ordered – it also happened in 3 other places! Evidently it isn’t given out like smarties here… So I eventually gave in and ordered it in… I would have preferred to have got it there and then.

So I am now in possession of the tablets, for the princely sum of 5ā‚¬18 – cheaper than England and for more tablets – it seems my worries about cost were unfounded!

My only bugbear now is that they’re not labelled with the day and come in strips of 10. Handy for those with memories like fish – I forsee my permanent marker coming out soon šŸ˜‰

Oh, and it came with a huge patient advice leaflet, and you know what it said at the bottom? Get well soon. Wunderbar…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2010 6:14 pm

    hehe…wunderbar indeed x

  2. October 10, 2010 8:31 pm

    Yay! I’m glad you were able to get hold of a prescription for the meds you need šŸ™‚

    When I write in marker pen on the foil that backs my meds I get a warm fuzzy feeling inside. I think it has something to do with writing on a soft texture. Hmm. I wonder whether there’s a medication they can prescribe for being slightly strange?

    • October 13, 2010 9:23 pm

      are they not the meds in the first place?!

  3. October 16, 2010 12:49 am

    I wish our PI leaflets said “get well soon” on them…

    Glad you managed to get them with a relatively painless process (thought I’d have to order my meds in, since there seems to be a quetiapine shortage in the local area – possibly related to an over-zealous at the prescribing of it psychiatrist, also in the local area… managed to get (most of) them with perseverance).

    The neurologist referral idea is a strange one, it would have been interesting to know why. Unless they are just more thorough over there, I know a few people at V Place who could’ve done with a brain scan since their symptoms seem more neurological than psychological.

    Take care,
    Differently

  4. October 17, 2010 10:08 pm

    Wouldn’t surprise me if it was because of their thoroughness! Thankful I don’t have to have the experience tho!

Leave a Reply

