Skip to content

Results Day

August 19, 2010

It could have been AAA, but it ended up being BBB.

Is every year going to be like this? Remembering the day, the feeling of others around you boasting about theirs, and how you could probably have gone to a better university. Let’s put aside the fact that I always really wanted to go to Aston.

I got BBB, but every year I always think of what could have been, what happened to stop me from getting those grades. Third Thursday in August is a repeat reminder, reminding me of how I failed.

I hate hearing of how well everyone else did, I was on track for AAA. And then at the final hurdle, I was struck down. I was ill, my grandad died. Excuses, excuses. Que sera, sera. I would have been at Aston anyway, and no-one cares about results anyway. It’s just all the discussions make it difficult.

*le sigh*

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 8:22 pm

    Remember that BBB is still good. Remember that you are going through things that others aren’t going through. You have a lot to carry right now. hold on . you can get through this!!

  2. August 19, 2010 11:06 pm

    Why does it matter? It’s such a tiny, tiny part of life and, as you say, it didn’t affect your plans.

    • August 21, 2010 5:03 pm

      I don’t know, Miss La. It just seems to be something that creeps into my head whenever the topic is raised. Something about not feeling good enough I think.

      • August 22, 2010 8:21 pm

        That’s what I suspected. Tell me, do you judge other people by their results? Would you determine their worth by three letters printed on a page? Probably not. Then why judge yourself by that standard?

        It’s a long life. Have you ever seen anyone’s A-level results included in their obit?

        It’s what you do with them that counts, not what they are.

        ((BIG HUGS))

      • August 22, 2010 8:34 pm

        I think they’re a better person than me, but otherwise not. xx

      • August 22, 2010 8:37 pm

        Well I don’t xx

  3. August 19, 2010 11:33 pm

    I know the feeling, every time August rolls around the various kids I know waiting for results ask me how I felt about getting my A levels results. But I was pulled from my exams last minute, so I didn’t even get any despite being on track for all As until the last few weeks before exams. I never had the result collecting experience other people had, even my GCSE results had to be picked up for me after everyone else had got theirs.
    Perhaps life would be different if I actually got those As, but I’ve got my life back on track regardless. At least you got your 3 Bs, much better than nothing.

Leave a Reply

