Skip to content

A threat to family life: the means-tested student loan form

May 21, 2010

Currently, I am back home and it’s all nice and relaxing apart from one problem: the student loan form. I have filled in my part, and all that remains is the financial part my parents have to fill in. Except my mother is spitting hair about it. She doesn’t want to give the details away in the first place; but then there is the added bonus of having to find out all the information for it. Now that makes her mad (and don’t I know!) but by far the worst part is the online/paper debacle. I applied online and asked for paper copies to be sent out, which, along with 4 other things have all not arrived. So we tried to do their part online, but the accounts won’t link and the number you use to link them isn’t used any more, so nothing can be done. I printed off the exact same paper form the student loans company would send out, to a frosty reception – this is the exact same form I sent them a month ago which my dad deleted because it was too big or something or other.
Today has not been a peaceful day. But at least we are all on speaking terms, unlike the first time I applied; they REALLY hated it then.

I’m currently liking the nice weather though, I hope it continues!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2010 1:32 pm

    Surely they cannot hold this form against you? It is not your fault it is such an awful system. I must admit my parents used to dread the envelope arriving, but I think they were happy I was at uni and glad to do it in a way. It was even worse for my sister as she had the NHS bursary and the student loan form to complete at once!

    • May 21, 2010 4:18 pm

      I don’t think they hold it against me, they (well my mother) make enough noise about it that you would have thought that they do hold it against me!

  2. findingmecrazy permalink
    May 22, 2010 1:11 am

    Aw that must be really annoying! Really hope you get it sorted!
    And yes the weather is amazing, I hope you’ve been out enjoying it 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

