Skip to content

The line

April 7, 2010

Where does the line between healthy restriction and unhealthy restriction lie? See, not wanting to eat 3 maybe bigger than usual meals a day and being afraid of the calories; what does that count as? In my opinion, it’s unnatural to eat so much and I’m running away from that, because of what I perceive to be a horrific amount of calories. But is it really? And where is healthy and not? I think I struggle with that – I have no idea how many normal calories I consume and what’s in what, yet I’m still running scared!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 9:37 pm

    I don’t think anyone can really answer that. If the 3 meals really are all bigger than a ‘healthy’ portion size, then I guess it is a natural response. But it depends on your judgement of portion size, and how many calories YOUR body needs etc. It is meant to be healthiest to have 3 smallish meals and 3 snacks a day, but I don’t think many people realistically do that.

    • Lola Snow permalink
      April 9, 2010 6:00 am

      I usually eat about 8 times a day. Mostly because I am always hungry at the moment, and have worked out that it takes a fuckload more food that I realise to keep by weight steady. Or rather my size. I have no idea what my poundage or BMI is, which is great. It means I don’t have to be hungry all the time 😉

      I suspect I eat close to 3500 calories a day, but you can minus 1000 for wine. Basically i don’t think it matters how much or how little you eat, so long as you aren’t fading into dust or endangering your life.

      Lola x

      • April 9, 2010 5:22 pm

        *Tells self it doesn’t matter how much I eat*

      • April 10, 2010 6:44 pm

        Yes, I probably eat about 8 times a day too when I am eating ‘normally’, but I tend to group anything I have eaten within about 2 hours together and call it 1 snack or 1 meal so it sounds better in my head. For example, I just had 2 biscuits, but about 2 hours ago I had a packet of crisps. I shall consider that to be 1 snack. I am definitely one of those people who grazes – I am not very interested in big meals, I would much rather just pick at food most of the time. But yes, the recommended dietican type meal plan tends to be 3 meals and 3 snacks (breakfast, snack, lunch, snack, dinner, snack). But I prefer eating later in the day so mine goes more like nothing, nothing, nothing, snack, snack, snack, meal, snack, binge, snack.

    • April 9, 2010 5:22 pm

      😮 Bippidee, 3 meals and 3 snacks?!
      I think partly it’s because of having to make your mind up, I’m just spending too much time looking at everyone else and wondering about them and trying to either keep up or eat less than them!

  2. Hannah permalink
    April 8, 2010 10:54 pm

    I think it’s ok to not want to eat 3 biggish meals in a day, I think a lot of girls would say something similar. But it’s very hard to say what’s healthy and what’s not, how much we should eat and what’s too much or too little. Sorry for not being helpful! x

Leave a Reply

