Skip to content

At least read my notes (please)

March 17, 2010

Friendly? Check!

Smiling? Check!

Welcoming? Check!

Actually have a clue about what’s going on? Uh uh.

It was all going well… he asks what I wanted, I tell him… Then it all goes wrong: “What are you on citalopram for?” “Why are you feeling depressed?” “Are you allergic to anything?” “Are you feeling suicidal?” Now, the latter questions may be fine to ask, but he even admitted he hadn’t looked at my notes. I may be being picky, but there’s a year and a half’s worth of stuff on there that a quick scroll might help you find out. I can’t specify within 30 seconds the exact cause of around 5 years’ worth of depression. Y’see, he was better than the doctor who talked about God, but he didn’t even try to care. He was getting through the patients fairly quickly and I just felt like another on a conveyer belt: quick fire questions, a prescription and goodbye.

I’m beginning to no longer like my practice: I no longer know who any of the GPs are, the website is out of date and the receptionists don’t seem to volunteer any names. I saw my previous doctor at that practice for 8 months, and I at least had some continuity for that, but recently, it’s mission impossible to get an appointment and they just really don’t seem to care. Good doctors are underrated; they make a world of difference…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 5:44 pm

    Urgh. Kate. I know. You understand they’re really busy and over-worked… but you need more time than it takes to write out a prescription. Maybe try every GP in the practice til you find the right one and then try to book the first appointment?

    Big hugs to you anyway x

    • March 17, 2010 5:52 pm

      Hmm, maybe. I’ll try and action that plan next week. Although I did see a nice Dr last week, but she works only like 1/2 days a week and I was going to run out before then… I’ll keep tabs on her 😉

      Hugs back x

  2. March 18, 2010 7:02 pm

    Seems a shame that you haven’t found the right GP there since your old one left. I hated my practice until Dr N arrived, but it’s not so bad now. It’s funny that in my village talking about the state of both GP’s surgeries seems to be a hot topic. Everyone moans about the old GPs at my surgery, but Dr N tends to get good reports! hehe.

    I don’t know what other surgeries in the area are like. Might be worth looking on http://www.patientopinion.org.uk or NHS choices for reviews.

    Hope you find someone better. When you do you’ll just have to always ask for appointments with them. I guess for regular drugs check ups it could be worth booking the next one as you leave the last appointment.

    x

    • March 19, 2010 9:01 am

      Unfortunately, booking in advance isn’t possible – you can only do it 3 days in advance! So if I wanted a monday appt, I’d have to book Wednesday and likelihood is that I forget! In the past sticking with ones has worked, but now it seems such a ruddy fight to even get *a* appointment, let alone with the doctor of choice! x

  3. Hannah permalink
    March 19, 2010 12:13 am

    I hate when new people haven’t looked at your file and then try to re-evaluate you – like the stupid SHO I saw on Monday! I’m with La, try all the different GPs and then just make appointments well in advance when you can so you can see the same one. Good doctors are definitely underrated, just keep looking, hopefully there are one or two at the practise. I think continuity is really important especially in the mental health area. Hope you have better luck soon! x

    • March 19, 2010 9:02 am

      Unfortunately, you can only book 3 days in advance which is a bit of a pain, really… I just need to be more organised! x

      • findingmecrazy permalink
        March 21, 2010 11:19 pm

        That’s such a pain! You can book three weeks in advance at my doctor’s which is good because the GP I see is never available for at least a week and a half! x

  4. March 20, 2010 12:04 am

    “Good doctors are underrated; they make a world of difference…” – couldn’t agree more.

    It might be worth changing GP surgeries (although then you’ll have the hassle of waiting for your notes to catch up with you…).

    The doctors who don’t bother reading notes really annoy me, to the point where now I tell them to look at my notes (particularly when they’re asking complicated or emotionally painful stuff). Although I have accumulated quite a catalogue of flippant/sarcastic answers, and I’m never really sure I help my case when I come out with them (sometimes I just can’t help myself…)

    Take care,
    Differently

    • March 22, 2010 10:25 pm

      I would change, but this one is linked to my Uni and somehow makes admin easier or something… I really don’t know! Also, I don’t really have that much time left here, so hopefully I can get through with minimal contact until the end of june!

      I need flippant remarks; well especially for this lad: he obviously didn’t know I was seeing a psychologist or psychiatrist so he was asking these questions… til I asked him to have a read 😉

Leave a Reply

