Skip to content

Dear Gok

February 27, 2010

Hey there, I’m just a little confused about how you’re supposedly helping people with their body image.
See, I saw an episode last night in which magic pants and some form of corset were involved – how is this meant to be helping people with themselves if you start putting all these extras on them? Yes it tucked in everything, but that still isn’t *actually* her. And some of the clothes? No! Looking like a stuffed chicken and showing bulges… Just no!
The programme is a good idea, that I do not doubt, but I’m not sure I’ll be watching again!
But then I got thinking. Getting people to change their body conceptions is really difficult. I mean, somehow in the last year or so, I’ve reduced the ‘dysphoric’ manner in which I see my body, through therapy and stuff, but that wouldn’t be an interesting TV programme would it?! On tuesday, I finally began to realise how far I’ve come. A year ago, this was when I was first referred to the CMHT and now things are a so much better; not completely better, there’s still some work to be done, but it’s better, and that’s what’s good!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2010 8:56 pm

    Totally agree about Gok and those types of programmes. I always wonder what happens when they are left on their own to deal with this new person staring back in the mirror. Also yay on feeling a bit better :).

    Also 1st comment so hello.

    • February 27, 2010 11:05 pm

      Hey!
      It’d be interesting to know, but it’s all probably staged; who knows- maybe she was crying with sadness but we’ll never know!
      Thanks x

  2. February 28, 2010 4:53 pm

    I’m afraid that I am sucker for Gok. I invariably cry at episodes of How to Look Good Naked. And yet I know that really, I agree with the points that you’ve made here. I think that what he does is a starting point, but really, magic underwear is only going to go so far. And you have to take it off at some point…! xx

    • February 28, 2010 7:33 pm

      Exactly, you take it off and… bang, it all comes back, surely?! I suppose he’s trying to persuade people they can still look good, but personally, I think it’d be better if he dressed them without all that faff! x

  3. March 1, 2010 5:09 am

    Ah, I must admit I love a bit of Gok! I spent years shouting whenever Trinny and Susannah came on the TV, but Gok is just a complete darling! Haha. I do agree though, It’s a shame he thinks they should suck it all in when I’m sure he could find a way to make them look and feel beautiful without control pants! Although, I’ve never worn magic pants before, but a friend of mine showed me her dress with and without magic underwear underneath the other week and the difference was amazing! I’m not surprised girls go for it!

    Really glad you’re doing better now, you should be proud!

    x

Leave a comment