Skip to content

Doctor, Doctor

January 16, 2010

I’m still here! I’ve had a very hectic week and thankfully it’s easing up; I just have a huge exam on Wednesday, but for now I need to rest! 3 essays and an exam down, 1 to go!

Anyway, I’ve discovered my nice doctor has left. I’m a bit upset, as it is possible to do, but also a bit angry. I have seen 7 doctors now in the space of a year and a half and, I know that at least I get continuity, I’m sick of breaking the bond and then bonding with someone new. Some people you just don’t get on with, some people you click instantly with; the last 2 have both been like that, I will miss her. She stuck around surprisingly long, in comparison to other doctors, but it seems the maximum they stay is a year. It’s not like they’re students, they’re mature 40-odd year olds, who I would have thought would have stayed longer. Alas.

So, I’m just bumming around now. I really need to start revising for my exam on Wednesday, which I am really fearing. History is far from my best subject, and the more I start thinking about it, the more concerned about the 2 essays I just handed in. And the 2 history exams last year, that I didn’t do too well in, either. I just am getting very worried. History really isn’t my strong point. And now, instead of writing and thinking that over and over, I’ll get my folder out and do something about it.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. findingmecrazy permalink
    January 16, 2010 8:58 pm

    Well done on getting the essays and the first exam down. And good luck for the next one!
    The lack of continuity care from healthcare professionals is something I can identify with, it is weird that there’s such a turnover of GPs at tour doctor’s, you’re right, you would think they’d stick around for longer. Don’t worry too much about your exam, hopefully it will go better than you think, hope the revision goes ok, take care x

  2. January 16, 2010 11:51 pm

    Sorry to hear your nice GP has gone. Probably says something about the management in your surgery! Are there any other practices in the area? May be time to change.

    Also good luck with the exam. I know nothing about languages but did a history degree so anything you think I may be able to help with, shout! Not sure how much use I am in here, mind.

    • January 17, 2010 1:12 am

      That or because of the terrible organisation of the place?! There is another I know of, but this one is linked to uni, so there’s a practice in uni, they have my notes and it makes the transfer of info between the 2 easier. I’m not a fan of the idea of changing, no matter how annoying the doctors not staying issue is! I wouldn’t want to end up somewhere worse, or have to do all the form filling!

      In regards to history, it’s about france and the fifth republic, so I’m not sure you’d have done anything on it! X

Leave a Reply

