Skip to content

The easy way out

December 23, 2009

Some days I feel like it’d be easier to just study abroad for all of next year, instead of trying to fnd a placement, because truth be told: I’m scared. Scared of the world of work, scared of getting ill, scared of getting ill again. Just generally… scared.

I could study at uni, do work, be in an easier environment, not have to worry about my professional reputation or about job interviews and stuff. I could forget the whole reason I chose my university, purely because of the placement thing: not many unis are in favour of it, whereas mine has a whole department devoted to helping students.

Just I’m scared. And I don’t feel confident enough to take on the challenge.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2009 8:24 pm

    I believe that you can do it; I think that a lot of those fears are natural, (not that that makes them any less scary!) xx

    • December 23, 2009 8:30 pm

      Thanks, I applied for one in Austria this afternoon. I hope once I’ve done one whole application cycle I’ll be more confident with it- natural really I guess! x

  2. December 23, 2009 9:48 pm

    What Ruby Tuesday said, it’s perfectly natural to be afraid, you’ll probably find that most if not all of your course mates are equally worried.

    I have faith in you. And unfortunately in life, most of the worthwhile stuff in life is scary as hell (get me and my christmas cracker wisdom).

    Hope you have a good and peaceful christmas and new year.

    Take care,
    Differently

    • December 24, 2009 12:17 pm

      Thanks, differently.

      Everyone probably is scared, just we’re not all voicing it that much!

      I just hope it’s worthwile enough!

      x

  3. astrid permalink
    December 24, 2009 11:55 am

    I can understand what you feel about studying at uni in a different country. I ve been through this I have come to an English university to do my degree in Physiotherapy. France is my home country.
    It is stressful for sure but I swear it does worth – new friends, new culture, you can even ake a fresh start and be a new you (if you want to).
    Austria I am sure that s a really nice place. Why not France? Ok French Uni are not as good as Uk uni but still the french quality of life is amazing. 🙂

    Joyeux Noel.
    Et Bonne chance pour tes devoirs, revisions.

    • December 24, 2009 12:21 pm

      I’m hoping to find a french placement, too. I want to do 6 months in a German speaking country and 6 months in France (hopefully!).

      I am, however, considering a French Uni, just the choice that I have is fairly meagre! There aren’t that many French placements being advertised at the moment either, so hopefully there’ll be some more opportunities come the new year!

      Joyeux Noel aussi, t’amuse bien!

      x

Leave a Reply

