Skip to content

A Good Doctor…

December 17, 2009

Will see straight through your pretending. Guess I got found out.

Half an hour later I exited the surgery, after she finally gave me my prescription.

I had the usage of the crisis team’s number pressed onto me, as well as being told that I’m precious and unique.

She was nice, don’t get me wrong, and I was treated well- she actually took the time to listen and stuff… But I just wanted to get out. It seems the trainee’s seem to care more, seem to actually take the time to listen, whereas the perhaps slightly more jaded ones are more efficient at treadmilling.

She only gave me a month of citalopram though, so I need to go back in a month; hopefully I’ll be able to see my nice doctor- as nice as though the trainee was, I have visions of rotations and bang gone come well, whenever they next rotate (march?).

I’m trying to work out though, whether I prefer the one I saw today to my normal one. They’re so different, I guess. See, the one I saw today seemed to be able to emphasise better; she said she’d experienced it too… yet that, to me, felt slightly unprofessional for her to have said that. My other doctor is lovely though… I dont have to decide for another month yet though- I just need to remember to ring up before I actually run out and therefore have no choice over who I see!

I also had a PHQ-9 test thingy done on me- 20/27. She also asked if the pills are *actually* doing anything. Bloody good question; response: I pretend to my Psychiatrist. She’s asked me to talk to my Psychologist to see if I can change. If I can, why hasn’t my other doctor said this? Is this how ideally it should work? Or is she wrong. Conflicting advice confuses me- I always thought you could never change your psychiatrist. My psychologist did want to discuss factual inaccuracies in my notes- maybe an ideal time to do so? I’m confused. And unsure. And generally meh. But there’s only tomorrow left, then I can hopefully have more than 6 hours’ sleep a night, and have some chill out time. Now, however, for essay plans and reading…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2009 1:58 pm

    Sounds like she was lovely. I have made an appointment to see my Dr tomorrow and I am really scared, he is lovely but maybe too nice. I also know I will just keep saying I am fine.

  2. December 17, 2009 3:14 pm

    Ah the PHQ-9! I don’t think I ever drop out of the 20s! Pointless thing.

    Sounds like she was helpful though. I think it is worth trying to change your psych. It must be possible, even if they don’t advertise the fact.

    Look after yourself and I’m glad you were caught out, even if you didn’t want to be. Sometimes it’s easier that way.

    xx

    • December 17, 2009 4:34 pm

      Indeed. Wonder if she did it because I wasn’t so forthcoming with my answers and just sort of looked around after a few words!

      xx

      • December 19, 2009 1:11 pm

        Yeah I think the good ones can tell if there’s something you’re hiding from them.

  3. December 17, 2009 7:43 pm

    I believe the GP-registrars – if that is what she was – change at the end of July.

    Yes they do seem to take more time to talk and listen. No doubt they’ll grow out of it…

    Glad she took an interest. Here’s hoping you do manage to chill out.

    Take care,
    Differently

    • December 17, 2009 8:01 pm

      No, she’s a trainee fresh out of medical school type doctor… They seem to change every 4 months or so?

      I think they must grow out of it- shame really but I can’t be doing with changing GP every 4 months,

      Can’t wait for this time in 24 hours- there will be some serious celebrating/chilling out going on…

  4. Hannah permalink
    December 20, 2009 9:16 pm

    Enjoy the celebrating and chilling out!xx

Leave a Reply

