Skip to content

An Interesting Article

November 27, 2009

Struggling with personality disorder

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2009 12:02 pm

    For some reason that link isn’t happy, but went and found it on Mark Easton’s blog anyway.

    Interesting that someone so mainstream is attending conferences and writing about PDs. It’s actually quite refreshing to see them being considered seriously and not as some catch all for difficult patients.

    That said I’m not sure sending people to 4 degreez.com for “self assessment” is wise. It’s an old internet meme that has been going around for years (I think I first did it in about 2001!).

    • November 27, 2009 12:17 pm

      I’ve updated it now!

      I think it is too- if everyone is more aware, it might help understanding….

      And I think I missed the 4degreez thing… :s

      • November 27, 2009 12:25 pm

        If you want to see whether your own characteristics would potentially lead to a diagnosis for PD, there are online assessment tools here and here.

        Underneath the orange/yellow graph.

        Similar minds is bad enough, but seems a little more professional than 4degreez!

      • November 27, 2009 12:27 pm

        ohhh, don’t think I looked at that 😉 I’ll have a shufty!

        Edit: I remember this. I remember doing it years ago… not that I remember what I got or anything!

  2. November 27, 2009 5:10 pm

    Kate – exactly. The 4degreez one has been going around for years. I think I first completed it as a livejournal meme in about 2001!

  3. findingmecrazy permalink
    November 27, 2009 9:06 pm

    I hadn’t done those test things before – came out as extremely BPD, which is sort of what I’ve been thinking lately but hopefully I’m completely wrong!
    Anyway – it was an interesting article, it’s scary the link they’ve managed to draw between abuse and PD.

    • November 28, 2009 1:16 am

      Don’t believe everything you see on the internet!
      x

  4. findingmecrazy permalink
    November 28, 2009 10:54 pm

    Don’t worry, I won’t! x

Leave a Reply

