Skip to content

Violated

November 5, 2009

A friend went through my phone and found my blog.

Looking at my stats, someone is reading all my posts. I don’t know if it’s them, or just pure chance but I’m feeling uneasy. I don’t know what the point of writing this is, but what I do know is that I told them not to read any more, and they said they wouldn’t.

I don’t know what to do.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2009 12:19 pm

    Aww honey. It is horrible when something like that happens.

    It could be a coincidence and they may not be reading. Occasionally I get people reading all of my posts and I am fairly sure they are just strangers that have stumbled across my blog.

    I guess now they know about this, there is nothing you can really do to stop them reading it all unless you take the blog down, which would be a shame.

    You just have to trust them and maybe posting this here, if they see it, might make them realise they should stop if they are reading it all. After all it is like reading someone’s diary and if you are told not to you should respect that.

    I presume you are friends if they had access to your phone and I’ve found that it can be a positive thing for friends to read. They can understand more and look out for you. I guess you should talk over it with them.

    xx

    • November 5, 2009 12:32 pm

      Yeah, I don’t know if it is a coincidence, I would have hoped they would have stopped when I asked them to. I really, really, don’t want to take it down, and I trust them enough not to tell others, but at the same time, this is in a way my secret. I’m just trying to work out exactly how much I’m bothered by it all.

      He is a friend, it was a bit of messing around in the pub- we mess around and people go on everyone elses facebook, but well, the way opera lays it’s opening page out means that all your favourites are available to see to everyone when they go onto your browser. I guess I just have to be lucky it was him and not someone else that did it.

      From what he saw in the pub, if he just read the two he did then well, it’s nothing *too* awful, but just still uncomfortable! I don’t really want to talk to him about it, I mean it’s not like I don’t want him specifically to read it, it’s just I don’t want people in general to know. Another friend pretty much knows everything, and for now I think that’s enough people!

      Thing is, he read out the title of my blog, but I don’t know how many people heard it, or would be interested, so I don’t know if it’s like more than just him that knows it? :s

      • November 5, 2009 4:06 pm

        I’m glad it’s someone you can trust not to share it with others. That makes it easier I guess?

        If it was just chat in the pub I doubt many others would have registered what he’d said when he read the title out. I guess you don’t know.

        Maybe you could edit this post to ask if anyone that knows you in real life could let you know they are reading in private? May be good to have an idea of who knows?

        I dunno. Just hope you’re okay with it. xx

  2. Grace permalink
    November 5, 2009 5:40 pm

    Argh darling… I know what that is like having just had to take down my own blog and so forth 😦

    All you can do i guess is wait to see what happens 😦

    *hugs*

  3. findingmecrazy permalink
    November 6, 2009 9:06 pm

    Aw Kate I’m sorry, it could be a totally random person reading all your posts though but I get the worry, that happened to me obviously. But if they’re a good friend and you as you said asked them to stop reading then they will if they’re a good friend but I do get your concerns. Maybe you could talk to him about it again and just explain how important it is to you that your blog isn’t read by your friends, and that it’s something just for you really?
    I hope it works out and I hope you’re ok xx

    • November 7, 2009 12:06 pm

      I’m reluctant to broach it if he doesn’t, as like you’ve said it could be a totally random person. Then it would seem like I don’t trust him and stuff. I’ll just have to wait and see I think.

      If I can convince myself that no-one’s reading, then it’s fine and it doesn’t matter, plus, I’m not feeling so bad about it now!

      xx

  4. Lola Snow permalink
    November 7, 2009 11:46 am

    Poor Rabbit, I hate this situation. It’s that toss up between knowing that everything you publish on the internet is in the public domain, and therefore quite feasible to be found by someone that knows you, and the feeling of someone gently snooping through your brain.

    I’d say ask him, but I don’t know how many people would own up to that sort of thing.

    What does your gut say? And how bad is it if he is reading along, but never broaches the subject with you?

    Lola x

    • November 7, 2009 12:08 pm

      I’m reluctant to broach it if he doesn’t, as it could be a totally random person, then it would seem like I don’t trust him and stuff.

      I guess I never thought anyone would find it, and it wouldn’t have been found if I didn’t have it on my phone! Plus, using a name that no-one knows, well you’d hope so then!

      I’m not panicking about it as much anymore, which is a good thing. I think I’ll leave it and see what happens!

      xx

Leave a Reply

