Skip to content

One day

October 30, 2009

… The psychiatrist will try and diagnose me with something I actually have.

Until then, he can stop trying to diagnose me as having bipolar.

Yeah, that went well, as you can tell?

He kept asking me about my reproductive system and saying that sodium valporate is bad… I have no need for this knowledge, apart from in a general knowledge quiz because I DO NOT HAVE/AM NOT BIPOLAR.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Lola Snow permalink
    October 30, 2009 4:54 pm

    *Withholds comments*

    I don’t care about the psychiatrists opinion, label of the month, or views on medication. I do care about you though rabbit. What’s the good of all the diagnonsense if it doesn’t get you support? Tossers.

    Lola x

  2. October 30, 2009 4:58 pm

    Couldn’t agree more. He’s written on my card ‘keep attending psychotherapy’ great but er, it’s non-existent atm and I see him again in 3 months and that’s how long I’m gonna be waiting. Silly man.

  3. October 30, 2009 6:12 pm

    *hugs* are you still on the citalopram though? I guess that must be something.

    xx

    • October 31, 2009 11:38 am

      I am. He was considering moving it down to 20mg, until I pointed out that my mood isn’t uppy downy all the time and the majority of the time I’m stable… So we agreed that if I do go too high, I just reduce it to 20mg for the duration of the highness.

      He said he’ll just monitor it (as usual). I also got the lowdown on lots of lovely mood stabilisers, and got told that maybe Quietapine or however it’s spelt may work. I told him no chance…

      xx

      • October 31, 2009 1:35 pm

        You shouldn’t discount mood stabilisers outright. They can help people that don’t have Bipolar Disorder. Quetiapine is used a lot with people with depression/anxiety at The Priory just at very low doses. They use it for anxiety control especially as it can reduce agitation.

        It is true that they just want a label to work with, although for me I had problem actually getting a label out of them!

      • October 31, 2009 2:34 pm

        Hmm… reduce agitation I read: send you to sleep.

        I am not touching those things.

        And he seems label happy, like Em said, he’s just upset I won’t play the label game with him.

  4. October 30, 2009 6:36 pm

    sounds like psychiatrists haven’t improved much since I saw one ten years ago 😛
    Ah well, have to make your own mind up I ‘spose re what helps you x

    • October 31, 2009 11:42 am

      I already knew what was helping, just he seems to make it his job to tell me every few months something I already knew…

  5. October 30, 2009 9:07 pm

    Lol, shrunken shrinks are hopeless. They’re also geeky fans of labels. They want you to be an easily named tin of soup. Maybe spicy tomato. When really you’re not a tin of soup, you’re umm… A PERSON!

    Ignore him. He’s just upset that you won’t play the label game with him.

    xx

    • October 31, 2009 11:43 am

      “He’s just upset that you won’t play the label game with him”

      Has he written that on my file you reckon? I had a friend who was asked by CAMHS at SEVENTEEN if she shared her crayons!

      If I were to be a soup, I’d be chicken noodle or plain tomato. What about you?

      xx

      • November 1, 2009 9:40 pm

        Something from weight watchers or leek and celery soup, no fat added (homemade!!!)

  6. October 31, 2009 10:27 am

    I’m shocked to see words like “silly”, “hopeless”, “geeky” and “tosser” being bandied about in these comments. Surely the correct technical term is fuckwit.

    Unfortunately I see the referral letters that these types write, and I have become so used to it that I no longer dwell on it. I hope you will not dwell on it either.

    As I’ve said before, the way to make the system work for you is to push all its buttons with formal written requests. My experience has been that if you show the NHS you mean business, it will treat you with more respect.

    • October 31, 2009 11:47 am

      I’m not dwelling on it in a serious manner, I’m just laughing and poking fun at him. Still, I suppose I don’t have to see him for another 3 months.

      His english is improving though; I was very surprised that I actually understood what he was saying! Anxiety no longer sounds like Angina…

  7. findingmecrazy permalink
    November 1, 2009 12:28 am

    Aw sorry your appointment was so useless, and sorry I haven’t been by in a while, been dealing with the stresses of the real world.

    I don’t know why psychiatrists are constantly trying to stick labels on people, they really shouldn’t. And I’m sorry you’re having such a rough time lately, hope things pick up really soon and yes the waiting list for psychotherapy is ridiculous, and it’s daft your psychiatrist telling you to keep attending appointments, it annoys me how useless these people can be.

    Oh and quetiapine is no fun at all, makes you gain weight and has you totally knackered all the time. I’m not it’s biggest fan as you can tell. Take care of yourself ok x

    • November 1, 2009 12:44 pm

      Hope the real world hasn’t been too nasty!

      I think the second paragraph just sums up any thoughts on him I have… I have a “care card” that I’ll photoshop for bitterness later…

      And yeah, I’m really rather against it for those reasons. x

  8. November 1, 2009 5:45 pm

    @ Intothesystem: Seroquel is used for depression, but that doesn’t mean it’s effective for it. Just that AstraZeneca (its manufacturer) has enough money to invest in pushing it for that. Atnipsychotics and mood stabilizers have some use in treating serious irritability, but only if it’s bad enough to tolerate the side effects for.

    • November 1, 2009 11:31 pm

      This is true, although it’s not like antidepressants are all that effective either 😉

      I know there’s a lot of talk about moving people to antipsychotics and mood stabilisers for depression because a load of antidepressants are out of patent or are soon to be. The pharmaceuticals always want to push the more expensive drugs!

      I have seen Quetiapine help quite a few people though. Or at least they have taken it and have improved considerably – although of course it’s questionable about what actually brought about the improvement when they were taking other things too.

      It wasn’t helpful for me though, but the side effects weren’t a problem either. I didn’t find it made me sleep at all – not even at 500mg doses! I did put weight on at first though, although that settled down pretty quickly. Overall I didn’t really see the point in me taking it.

  9. November 1, 2009 11:44 pm

    Everyone has horror stories about it, but Quetiapine didn’t make me put on any weight (in fact I lost a few pounds) and it didn’t sedate me much either. Just know you always have that option if things do get a bit crazy.

    Sorry your psychiatrist was useless! Mine is on the totally other side of the spectrum – “What is wrong with me then?” “I don’t deal in labels.” haha. He let me find out from an ECG form that it’s suspected schizophrenia. He also told me my illness is worse than cancer. Nice. Way to go him! But I know what you mean about the accent thing, mine goes on and on and I never know what he’s on about!

    Take care you xx

    • November 2, 2009 12:04 am

      Wow. I think he failed on the “compassion” module!

      I’m hoping he’ll never mention it again, seeing as that’s how he normally works: we’ll talk about it next time and we never do; normally works in my favour as I don’t want more meds/to change thank you very much!

      Maybe your psych doesn’t even know what’s going on, if he won’t tell you stuff?

      You take care too x

  10. November 2, 2009 12:38 am

    Haha I agree! He told my friend there were little creatures in her head also, which just freaked her out! I suppose he’s more compassionate than my Priory psych though, who told me I look better when I cry!

    I hope it works in your favour, you know what the right decisions are for you :).

    And I think he has an inkling of what is going on, he started with “I think the illness I think you have is one you can either get over within a few years if you work really hard, or you could end up in psychiatric hospitals for the rest of your life.” But when I asked what illness that might be, he wouldn’t say!

    Thanks 🙂 x

    • November 2, 2009 10:16 am

      Wow, he’s a bit nasty isn’t he?! Was he trying to protect you maybe? x

Leave a Reply

