Skip to content

Ineptitude- a rant

October 22, 2009

The CMHT are completely and utterly useless. I went today, as I had an appointment… or so I thought. I gave my name etc and the guy said it’d been cancelled and he’d found out why. He comes back ten minutes later saying I should have received a letter telling me this. I asked which address he had on file and he said the one from Uni last year, the one that I rang up to change 3 months ago, changed on a data sheet in August and phoned up at least twice to check they had the right one. Riiiight.

So I asked why I wasn’t told last week that it was cancelled when I tried to rearrange it. He said they automatically cancel appointments when people ring up, even though I rang up twice to try and change it and someone was supposed to ring me back but didn’t. I didn’t ask for it to be cancelled, and I expected someone to ring me back… who didn’t so I didn’t have a clue that this had happened.

I missed a good lecture through all of this, I rang up wanting to rearrange because of this lecture but I still ended up missing it due to the fact that they can’t deal with any kind of data at all.

So what now? I’m waiting for them to ring me (again) to see if I can have one of the emergency appointments, as they don’t have any regular ones for a while. I am also frothing and foaming and being generally very angry. I am not impressed, and this isn’t the first time they have screwed up, either. Considering asking for discharge…

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2009 4:45 pm

    Write a letter to the Chief Executive of the NHS Trust with as much factual detail as you can remember. Make it plain that it is a formal complaint, and that you want it to be dealt with through the trust’s complaints procedure. People who make formal complaints get better service afterwards, in my experience. If you would like more specific help with following this through, you are welcome to e-mail me.

    • October 23, 2009 12:11 am

      I am definitely considering this, and if I need any help I will be sure to contact you. Thanks.

  2. karenintheory permalink
    October 22, 2009 11:03 pm

    Asking for a discharge sounds like a bad idea to be honest. It’s hard trying to get back in the system.

    You’re well within your rights to be angry and I agree with cbtish, write a letter of complaint. And keep phoning about that emergency appointment.

    Karen xx

    • October 23, 2009 12:13 am

      I don’t really want, and perhaps don’t need, to be in the system, but point taken.
      Surprisingly enough they rang me back and have an appt for next friday, at a similarly somewhat unideal time but well, the only time they have for a month, apparently.
      Thanks and Hi btw! X

  3. Lola Snow permalink
    October 23, 2009 4:58 pm

    *Furious*

    That is ALL.

    Lola x

    • October 23, 2009 6:42 pm

      I’m in that camp with ye!

      • Lola Snow permalink
        October 23, 2009 7:58 pm

        *Hugs* Another victim of the Community Mental Healthcare Tosspots. We should start a support group. Preferably one with eggs and toilet roll and masks.

        xx

      • October 24, 2009 12:17 am

        Weeeeelll you don’t live *too* far away… Brum visit anyone?!

  4. Lola Snow permalink
    October 24, 2009 7:36 pm

    Do not tempt me! We could do my lot at the same time. Any other takers?

    😉

  5. Hannah permalink
    October 25, 2009 9:51 pm

    That’s absolutely ridiculous and appalling, but unfortunately seems to be the kind of service a lot of people come from CMHT, glad you got another appointment though that isn’t ages away. I’m with cbtish though, make a proper complaint x

    • October 26, 2009 11:39 am

      I’m kinda glad it isn’t so far away, but it means I’ll spend this week on edge too and having to reprepare. Oh well! I will be making a proper complaint, I never got round to writing an angry one and then having to cross bits out so I’ll have to start from scratch. I’ll have to get on with it soon though… *must motivate self*

Leave a Reply

