Skip to content

Sooo…

September 16, 2009

My doctor in Brum has decided I need diazepam to try and bring my mood down. I’m not up for the challenge of navigating the local doctors to sort out seeing someone and procuring it. She’s reduced Tally down to 20mg one day, 40mg the next until Tuesday when I can see her in person.

Until then I must a) keep trying to fight through the feeling… I don’t know how and b) pretending everything’s normal. She said to pretend I could say I drank too much coffee or took some decongestant because apparently it can also do that… I’ll stick to going out or staying in my room dancing, singing, talking to myself and packing.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2009 10:09 am

    I’d be careful with diazepam. I’ve taken it before and the first time it sent me completely off the wall. On subsequent times it did stop my mind racing which I suppose is what it was meant to do. It meant I could get a proper nights sleep without waking up more exhausted than the night before. I’m sure I don’t need to give you the “it’s very addictive, use with caution” lecture, but do take care with it 🙂

    • September 18, 2009 6:10 pm

      I didn’t bother trying in the end, the docs here are far too confusing! I’ve never had it before, so know nothing about it…

  2. Lola Snow permalink
    September 17, 2009 6:00 pm

    I don’t trust myself to comment on the drugs issue as I cannot find impartial words, so I’ll just say stay safe.

    As for coping, have you tried music? It sounds a little lame, but putting on chilled out tunes is scientifically proven to alter mood. At least I think I read that somewhere

    Lola x

    • September 18, 2009 6:11 pm

      I’m just trying to wear myself out by doing loads, I think it’s going down a little, but there are still little bursts where I can’t stop moving and stuff. x

  3. September 19, 2009 3:33 pm

    Hope things have settled down a little bit since then.

    Diazepam doesn’t do much for me, but a lot of people find it helpful. It can take the edge off a little although as anickdaler mentions it can make some people worse.

    It is addictive though so definitely only a short term measure. I understand your reluctance to try and get some from a local doctor. I have been told to try and get diazepam as a short term measure before but have been unable to get an appointment with my usual doctor and a different one wouldn’t give me any.

    Hope appointment with your GP goes well next week. She sounds helpful. xx

    • September 19, 2009 9:24 pm

      Thanks, ITS. It went in spam for some reason :s

      Things do seem to be settling down, slowly, and I still go through times of very wired but yeah, it seems to be okay now.

      I don’t know what the doc will do, and most likely it will end up with a trip to the psych, as he deals with meds…

      xx

Leave a Reply

