Skip to content

Advice Needed

September 16, 2009

(and quickly, please!)

So, my mood seems to be rather uppy in a can’tstopmovingtalkingtoofastcan’tgetagrip way. How can I regain control of this before I go crazy? It seems to be shifting between that and rock bottom, mainly rock bottom late evenings but during the day I feel uncontrollable.

What’s going on?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2009 12:23 pm

    The CBT approach is that you tend to think about some particular thing, and the thought lasts only a moment before it is replaced by the can’tstopmovingtalkingtoofastcan’tgetagrip feeling, or the rock bottom feeling. So, to find out what’s going on you have to focus on the moments before you become uncontrollable or rock bottom.

    A related approach is to work out (by trial and error) what makes the feeling a little better and what makes it a little worse, taking account that there might be a delay involved.

    For example, did asking the question here make it any better or any worse?

    • September 16, 2009 6:10 pm

      Thanks, cbtish, but that’s not the feeling I’m referring to, apparently I’m wired according to the doc….

  2. September 16, 2009 9:56 pm

    It doesn’t really matter what feeling you’re referring to. Something must be causing it. If you want it to stop, find out what’s causing it.

    Hmmm, wired. The doc lost me there.

    • September 16, 2009 10:15 pm

      Wired as in the next step being hypomania, apparently

  3. findingmecrazy permalink
    September 18, 2009 12:51 pm

    Hey Kate, have you had any luck with your mood? Hope you’re not quite so wired at any rate. I don’t know how you can pretend everything’s normal though, I’d a few slightly wired experiences with the can’t stop talking and moving etc and it’s a horrible way to feel as if you’re totally losing control.

    But hopefully it will get better and the medication changes should help surely. Sorry I can’t be any help, just hang in there, you’ll get through it x

    • September 18, 2009 6:10 pm

      Well I’m a little less wiry, although it comes back really bad on occasions… esp when I’m trying to concentrate on something difficult! I can’t pretend to be normal, that’s the thing… I can try to pretend, but it’s mainly been me going out or hiding in my room; when everyone was out on Weds I was singing, dancing etc all over the place (and on the street…oops!) So yeah, normalcy… not exactly going well 😉

      Don’t worry, just a comment is nice, it doesn’t *have* to have advice or anything 🙂

      x

Leave a Reply

