Skip to content

A trip to Brum and Holiday

July 21, 2009

I saw the Psychiatrist today, as usual it was a delight to be there; I kept asking him to repeat things and he didn’t understand what I said. At least I was in a forgiving mood. We talked about why my mood’s dropped, he gave me the bog standard exercise, relax, don’t drink etc advice and told me to ring ED:IT to find out what’s going on with my referral, as he’s heard nothing. If things are still bad next time (end of oct) he’ll consider SNRIs, such as Mirtazapine, Duloxetine or Venlafaxine. I don’t want any of these, so I’m hoping my mood pulls it’s boots up, sharpish.

I then rang the ED:IT team, the lady I had the assessment was in a meeting, but I was told she’d ring me tomorrow. However, someone else rang me back and told me that the outcome etc had been sent to my Psychiatrist last week, so it should be there soon. I thanked her and dialled off, then immediately realised that I’d forgotten to ask what was happening (as I was with a friend and I’d already been mysterious enough today!) so I need to ring them back and find out what’s going on; silly me!

It was weird being back in Brum. It all felt rather surreal and dream worldish, I recognised the places but none of it felt right. I feel thoroughly uprooted at the moment, being back there and then back home again (this of course will not be helped by the fact I’m going on holiday on thursday, then coming home and going straight to Hungary!). I’m realising I don’t travel well and I’m bad at change; perhaps all this moving around is a bad idea, but the problem is my conflicting personality: I love travelling, and exploring new places. Just after, I get a bit melancholic.

I’m packing up to go on holiday right now, I’d love to be asleep and just keep rolling along, but my mother is already panicking that I’ve not packed and stuff, so I really need to get cracking as I don’t want a lovely wake up call tomorrow morning! I had 12 hours sleep last night and I’m planning on the same again today; I’ll do a little more packing and then go to bed, I really need to recover (and I’m getting ill, there’s some kind of evil cold that knocks you out going around work and my chest is getting rather tight…).

So, ramble ahoy; I need to pack and go to bed!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2009 9:39 pm

    Ah yes, sounds like a typical shrinks appointment. Hoping your mood picks up too.

    Enjoy your holiday. I think a tad of melancholia post travel is normal – if for no other reason than you’re back to reality and part of you fights to stay away. Well it does in my case anyway…

    As far as the cold going around work, are you sure it isn’t swine flu…? Oink choo 🙂 . Hope it doesn’t ruin your holiday. And the best advice I was giving with regards packing – if you have VISA it doesn’t matter what you forget…

    Take care,
    Differently

  2. July 22, 2009 9:48 pm

    Thanks, differently. The person that had it before me rang her docs to check, but because it doesn’t come with a temperature it can’t be swine flu apparently, so that’s good! It appears my extra time in bed has paid off howeever, as it doesn’t seem to be too bad for me!

    I’m leaving my parents to stress over packing, nice of me I know, but I’ll be in the way otherwise!

    xx

  3. July 23, 2009 3:51 pm

    I should have read this before I went in your work today 😉 Don’t want to catch a nasty cold! hehe.

    Sounds like the shrink was typical. At least you had it though. Hope things pick up and you can avoid the change of meds.

    Take care and enjoy your hols! xx

    • July 23, 2009 5:20 pm

      Why do you always go in when I’m not there?! 😦 it’d be lovely to see you and I could give you a guided tour 😉

  4. July 23, 2009 7:46 pm

    Enjoy your hols!

  5. July 24, 2009 11:58 am

    I did look out for you but had forgotten you were off on your hols! I’ll have to text you next time I’m likely to be over there although god knows when that will be. x

  6. July 26, 2009 11:31 am

    Thanks Alison, and L you should, would be lovely to see you again!
    I’m in a supermarket with free wifi atm, but it’s sooo hot all the time, I’m not used to it, but apart from that, it’s okay; depression is being a little Heyy atm but oh well!

Leave a Reply

