Skip to content

Audience Participation Reqd!

June 15, 2009
tags:

Okay, readers! I need your help…

… In recommending me good coping/distraction techniques!

I already know ones like music, exercise, going for a walk, reading, writing, cooking; but what else is there that I don’t know about? Thank youuu!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2009 7:03 pm

    Sex. It was one they gave us in a list at group therapy lol x

    • June 16, 2009 12:45 am

      My neighbours do that for me. In fact, they’re doing it VERY loudly right now…

      I don;t get any, I’m afraid 😦

  2. June 15, 2009 8:02 pm

    ^ ^ hehe.

    My distractions? sleeping, crocheting, yoga, dancing around my room like a woman possessed, tidying, (haha, once in a blue moon), a wee bit of pampering – nail painting etc, gardening.

  3. June 15, 2009 8:09 pm

    This is really tragic I know, BUT: draw celtic knots! I’m being serious. You can always tell when I’m really really stressed because I start producing really fiddly intricate celtic knots. See http://www.wallace.net/knots/howto/ for examples.

    P.S. Admittedly, not as good as sex.

    • June 16, 2009 12:47 am

      I’ll keep it in mind. I quite like art, tbh πŸ™‚

  4. Heidi permalink
    June 16, 2009 3:25 pm

    As well as drawing, how about colouring in. I have a big book of mandalas (these circular pattern things) and spend ages doing it to distract me. I’m also a crossword/wordsearch fiend, it keeps me busy.

    Also I know it sounds sad but cleaning, nothing like a good old scrubbing of tiles to vent your frustration out!

    I also do poi which is a circus art type thing which I find really good distraction. If you fancied trying it you can make your own poi from sports socks and tennis balls instead of having to buy ones.

    Oh and cutting letters out of newspapers and writing kidnapper style notes (though not about kidnapping and ransoms obviously!) is always fun.

    • June 17, 2009 12:09 am

      OOOh I know the things you mean! I used to have a book of swirly things from Sainsbury’s!

      I have some pois at home, I used to do circus skills so I have all that kind of stuff. I want to start unicycling again this summer (and possibly start playing cornet again…)

      I like the idea of kidnapper style notes, just I’d want someone to do it with, and who can make the funniest etc…!

  5. June 18, 2009 12:37 pm

    There’s nothing I can add I don’t think, but a few of the above are on my list:

    Ruby Tuesday’s nail painting – I find this good too, especially filing first, then basecoat, then topcoat. It’s repetitive and mind numbing, which helps calm me sometimes. Also straightening my hair for the same reason – anything with repetition.

    Heidi’s crosswords – I like the cryptic crosswords and have a book full of them by my bed. If words don’t do it for you then number puzzles like sudoku have the same effect, but I’m not a number crunching type.

    Maybe you could do a kidnapper note and post the photo, it might set off a new craze πŸ˜‰

    Eccedentesiast’s idea of sex is good, but only if there’s someone willing and able standing by. There might be the possibility of offence if we yanked someone in off the street and demanded a dose of distracting sex. Alternatively, masturbation. This is good for anxious/stressy times but not depression coz libido disappears when depressed (too much information?). Also, get a vibrator if you haven’t got one πŸ™‚

    Louise x

    • June 19, 2009 4:56 pm

      I like repetitive things too, like cooking- chopping onions is good.

      And a new trend? Maybe, we’ll see… I just don’t want to be blkamed for the downfalls of society!

      And you mean I’d get in trouble for dragging randoms to have sex with me? Dammit, that’s why all these police keep following me…

      xx

  6. June 20, 2009 11:58 am

    Chopping onions? You must have eyes of steel if you don’t mind doing that, my eyes sting to all hell with onions.
    Lol yes the police are annoying that way, killjoys x

    • June 20, 2009 6:46 pm

      I dunno, there’s normally a breeze so I don’t get it in my eyes! I got chilli all over my face once, now what WAS painful/nasty/bad/evil…

      • June 20, 2009 9:09 pm

        ouuuuch. Yes I remember cutting a chilli once and then touching my eye accidentally. I couldn’t open my eye for hours

Leave a Reply

