Skip to content

Adulthood

June 4, 2009

I think I have now exhausted all the things you can now do once you’re 18: bought alcohol and cigarettes, watched a film with an 18 rating… and voted. And I’m happy that I finally got to vote, after just missing out last year and then the whole issue with someone having binned the polling cards for our flat. It was a nice surprise to find we still could and we got to end our game of hunt whoever threw them away down. The more cynical on our flat think the uni didn’t want us to vote, seeing as all the polling cards came through them, so either they binned them or someone here did, and there were no signs for the polling station, except for ones on the actual room hidden in the middle of a building. Anyway, I won’t rant here about certain parties, as it isn’t the place.

Instead, I shall ramble about something else, something that I haven’t actually decided on yet, and I’m writing this thing. Maybe I should talk about the influx of sadness whenever I realise that at 10.30am tomorrow, my first year at university will be over, it’s scary really. But I wanted to save that for a post in itself, because I want to think all that through properly. So, instead, I’ll talk about how I’ve got off my bum and done something useful. At home, whenever I’m feeling down I get on a bus and go somewhere, anywhere, I might just even sit on a load of buses for a whole day, but I find the moving and seeing places helps me to feel better. In Birmingham, however, the cost has always put me off… until now. I am now in possession of a bus pass for the next week for any TWM bus in the Black Country, Birmingham and Coventry at off peak times. It only cost ¬£7.50, which isn’t bad and it’s going to give me freedom and give me what I’ve been missing all year, and the chance to let me explore this area properly. I’m hideously excited, which is quite strange, but I have motivation to get up from my bed at some reasonable hour (9ish) so I can go somewhere, and if need be, make it back before the evening peak restriction, or go somewhere else instead. Today, I just went to Canon Hill Park again, fewer weirdos, just the one group this time, but they were friendly and asked me about the book I was reading. So, I got to revise in somewhere rather pretty; weather wasn’t as good, however, and I spent most of the time wrapped up in my groundsheet because it was rather cold! But I’m a happy Kate now, and that’s what I need to be able to revise and do this exam tomorrow. Bad day turned good, it seems…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2009 10:21 am

    Glad you had a good day and got to vote. Good luck for the exam today!!

  2. June 5, 2009 2:38 pm

    Thanks, ITS. I can now only hope I did well! No more uni til October, yay! x

  3. June 5, 2009 10:48 pm

    Good luck for tomorrow’s exam. And enjoy the bus pass.

    Take care,
    Differently

  4. June 6, 2009 10:27 am

    I’ve already had it, differently. The weather is plotting against me in my ideas for where I want to go. torrential rain + long walk may not be the best idea…

Leave a Reply

