Skip to content

Speedy recoveries

May 15, 2009

Too many people recently have expressed confusion over how I can STILL be ill.

“What, you’re still on medication?”

Unfortunately, people, I am. I wish I was well, too. Instead, I’m not.

Everytime someone asks me this, I wonder too why I’m still ill; too lazy, too stuck? Just everything bad about a person is what I am.Why can’t I get better? Aren’t you trying? Are both some other questions I’ve had. It’s horrible. I’m doubting myself enough as it is. I don’t want to be like this anymore, and quite frankly, although I’m all for openness, maybe not so much if people ask such questions. Or maybe they need to be better educated. All they need to know is that I don’t know what the hell my brain’s doing and I am trying thankyouverymuch.

People don’t understand depression isn’t like a physical illness, like a cold which is gone in a week; your ‘depression’ may have lasted 3 months, may have lasted a week. Using ‘ ‘ isn’t meant to take value off what they were experiencing, but I suspect at times that it isn’t really depression. I just want to be ‘well’…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2009 9:27 pm

    I get the same confusion over how I can still be ill after 3 months in hospital! It’s so frustrating.

    Take care xx

  2. May 15, 2009 9:33 pm

    A lot of people seem to get bored with my being ill. When there was a crisis, people all rallied around and that was great, but a year later, when it’s still going on, people don’t seem to understand that. And I bet that I’m more bored with this than they are.

  3. May 15, 2009 10:02 pm

    ITS, yeah it’s like a magic thingy they think happens; like when you go into hospital for something physical you get completely better before you’re out.

    Ruby Tuesday: Yeah, I guess that’s why learning to keep schtum seems the best way for me, because then they can’t get bored/talk like that.

  4. May 16, 2009 2:30 am

    People can be so insensitive sometimes. Hannah X

Leave a Reply

