Skip to content

The right answers

March 17, 2009

On Thursday I have my assessment with the CMHT, and I spent counselling today discussing how I could get things across properly, seeing as I have a tendency to minimise things and leave bits out. The problem is that I don’t realise I’m doing it, so I say something that to me has the weight behind it, but for others it doesn’t seem so bad. For example, we were discussing how some people have depression forever, and I said “I’d probably kill myself before I got to have a long life, it’s not much fun” which I meant “It’s bloody awful” but my counsellor thought it was okay, bearable but not fun. Soooo, I’m having a think about what to say, and so far I have possible things they could ask:

  1. How am I affected on a daily basis
  2. Past/present
  3. What I want from them

Does anyone have any ideas about anything else? Obviously I don’t want to make it too staged, but at the same time I need to do this properly and get things across the first time, seeing as they don’t know me, and know I tend to minimise!

Thanks!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2009 11:19 am

    Perhaps the first thing to say is exactly that: “I have a tendency to minimise things and leave bits out

    You could say that you keep a diary (you don’t need to say that it’s a blog), and you could read out some unedited quotes from it, with the dates.

    For example you could pick out, say, twenty quotes that describe the worst times you have had recently. Then you could score each quote from 1 to 10 according to how accurately it describes how things are for you right now this week. And you could read out the top six like a chart show, ending with the one that you feel most strongly about.

    The power of this lies in using the actual words that you wrote at the time, and in the fact that you have a record of the date and the circumstances.

    For example, to get you started, here’s one that sticks in my mind from a month ago:

    Friday, February 20th:I can’t put the paranoid thoughts away; the running upstairs last night from the people with guns who were going to shoot me and had missiles… this stinks of times past, times that I hoped had finished. I want to cry, but I can’t even do that. There’s no-one here to stop me from falling, no-one here to keep me safe… just me making decisions I’m in no position to make.

  2. March 18, 2009 3:30 pm

    That sounds like a good plan. I’ll have a re-read through!

  3. March 18, 2009 6:36 pm

    Good luck with thursday, dont have anything to suggest really. Just wishing good luck. Hannah X

  4. March 18, 2009 9:16 pm

    Thanks Hannah x

Leave a Reply

