Skip to content

She’s all I hate and more

February 18, 2009
tags:

Okay, so maybe hate is a bit of a strong word. I hate her patronising voice, her pained expression when she’s waiting for an answer to my question, her teeth, her stuttering and slow speech. I’m all for equal opportunities and all, but isn’t this taking the biscuit? I don’t understand why the second you land a psychology degree and starting being a psychotherapist or whatever it is that she is, your speech slows and you gain a patronising voice? Maybe it’s supposed to be comforting, encouraging. It isn’t; it just makes me hate you, which, you will probably say is because I’m transferring me feelings of hate from someone else, to you as we explore the past. Trust me, it isn’t. I just hate you.

We’re going to look into managing my depression. Great. What about like, curing it, or actually doing something I want to… like perhaps accepting myself/ gaining control of my thoughts of myself, which, I honestly believe are partly to do with this. We’re going to explore my past (big yays!) and see how that’s affected things today. I do believe this may be the billionth time I’ve done this. Maybe next week, I’ll say well look, I want to do this instead kthxbai. I mean, it’s me getting what I want out of it, so that’s what I’ll do. Maybe. In the meantime I’ll develop some coping techniques to deal with the permatanned blonde haired see through shirt wearing “professional”.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2009 3:06 pm

    Is this by any chance supposed to be CBT? The CBT about which I have written things like, “a clear and unmistakable feeling that your therapist understands and likes you as a person, understands your difficulties, and is genuinely confident about being able to help”?

    It sounds like she would fail the brick test.

    Stay with hate. It’ll help you to fill in the complaint form.

  2. Lola Snow permalink
    February 18, 2009 4:08 pm

    I suggest brutal honesty and piss taking. Take in hand puppets and only communicate with her through them. Make her do the same, and if she won’t, then tell her to start treating you like a grown up.

    Failing that, why not just say
    “Why are you talking like that? It makes you sound like a twat.”

    See what happens!!

    Lola x

  3. February 18, 2009 6:37 pm

    What is it with the voice? Is there a voice class therapists have to take? Soft, comforting, draw the word out as if you’ve considered it but careful not too whiny …

  4. February 18, 2009 7:25 pm

    CBTish: Love it. Can I take a brick with me instead and address that? She didn’t interrupt or anything, yet she didn’t get my full history; that may or may not be down to her already having my notes but :s

    Lola: Hahahahahahahaha! She might press the panic button on me tho

    La: must be. a lot of people seem to have adopted it, so…

    xx

Leave a Reply

