Skip to content

Nice or a mug?

February 18, 2009

So, after spending 4 hours of my day plus another hour travelling to the hospital, I’m wondering whether I’m a mug or too nice. My flatmate went skinny dipping at 4am and gashed his foot open in thr fountain. We went to hospital at 2pm, he was still drunk and didn’t realise how bad it was. That aside, the others all made their excuses… I said I’d go even though I was supposed to be going climbing; a mug or just being helpful? I stood up a friend to take some fairly nice most of the time guy to hospital and watch him falling asleep on the table because he hadn’t slept for 48hours…. Hmm.

I feel like a bit of a prick now; everyone else was like ‘oh, that’s really nice that you went with him’ but, well, it seems empty to me, empty to say ‘oh wow, you went’ but his close mates couldn’t be bothered to get out of bed. Riiight. A bit of self consciousness has crept over me; I’m not surprised, I’m exhausted: I was falling asleep in the room we were in for about 2 hours whilst she was cleaning it up and waiting for someone to come and sew it up. I suppose at least now I know where one hospital is: too far away!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2009 10:05 am

    You seem to think other people are important enough to care for even when they don’t care for themselves. You’re right. Other people are important enough to care for even when they don’t care for themselves. I don’t think either ‘nice’ or ‘mug’ covers it. What kind of a world do these “everyone else” want to live in? Do they even know?

  2. February 19, 2009 11:49 am

    An alcohol filled world with lots of sex and skinny dipping at 4am world?

    Whilst I was at the hospital, I realised that this is one of the many thousands of alcohol induced cases that costs the NHS millions every year… I’m now so angry for going with him… Yes, there has been a turn in mood since yesterday!

    xx

  3. February 19, 2009 4:08 pm

    You’re still right. I didn’t think you’d get the anger too. I’m very impressed. Let him know it, of course, in no uncertain terms.

  4. February 19, 2009 4:15 pm

    That’s where my problem is: I don’t generally let other see I’m angry, which is there the walking over generally begins… I’m just ignoring everyone at the moment (which is quite easy.. I stay in my room with the door shut and hey presto; effective ignoring!)

  5. February 19, 2009 8:36 pm

    Are they mutually exclusive 🙂 ?

    Actually I’d nice, you put somebody else’s needs in front of your own, which is more than a lot of people do. If more people did then maybe the world would be a better place.

    Actually the yiddish term Mensh is probably the most apt.

    Take care,
    Differently

  6. February 19, 2009 8:42 pm

    Sorry, that was meant to say: mensch.

    I suck at transliterations, especially after consuming any beer.

    Take care,
    Differently

  7. February 19, 2009 10:02 pm

    It seems to me that anger is a flow of energy that’s meant to produce change, and trying to contain the energy within yourself might do you some harm. What do you think would happen if you directed it at the guy who deserves it?

  8. February 19, 2009 10:50 pm

    Differently: Mensch is people in German, can also be like fuck or bloody hell! Is that what the Yiddish means (we have a Yiddish obsessed lecturer atm :s)

    Perhaps I did put him first, but I’d rather put someone I like first, than this guy. He’s nice and all, but a bit of a prick and one of the lads….

    CBTish: I’d probably piss everyone off in my flat; I’m pretty sure they think I’m odd already and well, I had the option not to go but I still went, so I feel it’s a bit hypocritical to go GRRRR!

  9. February 19, 2009 11:32 pm

    “Mensch: literally, “man,” but usually referring to a decent human being, a good, honest person who always takes the high road. Being called a mensch is the ultimate compliment.”

    Not that the definition really works – it’s kind of one of those words that only works in Yiddish.

    Kind of being good to the point of being a ‘freiyer’ (like I said I suck at transliterations) – a bit of a pushover, since lesser people will happily take advantage. But a mensch knows they’re being taken advantage of and does it anyway, since it’s the right thing to do. If that makes sense?

    Ah yes – Yiddish obsessed lecturers – there’s always one knocking around german language departments.

    Differently

  10. February 19, 2009 11:44 pm

    I think it does make sense pretty much! Seems a bit philosophical though!

  11. February 20, 2009 10:32 am

    It’s the other way round. If they think you’re odd, it’s because you’re hiding pieces of the jigsaw so they can’t see the full picture.

    You have to make it simple for them — you went because you care, you’re angry because you care — and let them chew on it. The payoff for you is that you get to release the energy of your anger, and you don’t have to stay in your room.

  12. February 20, 2009 2:45 pm

    Conveiniently enough… there’s no-one around! I might just kick something instead, then it’s not making a mountain out of a molehill a while after it happened. I do understand what you mean though, I should have said something earlier in the week.

Leave a Reply

