Skip to content

Die Ärztin

February 3, 2009
tags:

So, today was doctors day and also was meant to be counselling day, but a severe lack of well, bad weather meant it was cancelled.

The appointment went quite well, actually and I’ve come out with another prescription for 30mg Tally. I already knew the doctor, as she’d been the one ‘sitting in’ when my old one was leaving; we discussed support and talked about what to do when I’m really low: The usual selection of helplines and getting a nurses’ appointment at the surgery and stuff, which, is all well and good but I still feel like something is lacking. She’s looking into a 42nd St kind of place in Brum, although I’m doubtful that there will be one!

I didn’t quite get out about the weekend, but I was already feeling rather uncomfortable and I know next time I will talk about more support on a long term basis, seeing as I feel quite lost at the moment and I want a different kind of support to counselling. I’m fine with counselling, but I feel like I need someone that’s got specific mental health training rather than a counsellor who doesn’t know what depression is and flutters around and I can imagine her flapping should I tell her about the weekend, which means that well, who? My old MHW offered support and I’d like him back, but seeing as though that’s not possible I need to find someone else.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Susanne permalink
    February 3, 2009 7:34 pm

    Hi. You don’t know me, but I’ve been reading your blog for a while. I’m in Brum as well, and like you trying to deal with depression (and anorexia). Can’t the GP refer you to a psychotherapist under the NHS? I had counselling for a year and then we agreed that I needed more support. Psychotherapy has been incredibly helpful so far. Take care.

  2. February 3, 2009 9:22 pm

    Hi Susanne, nice to ‘meet’ you!

    I’m starting CBT again sometime soon, but I don’t know if it’ll be time limited; in fact I don’t know much about what’s going to happen! He (the MHW) was supposed to be arranging more long term support to me, and I’ll hold him to his word otherwise, and this new person as well!

    Good luck with your psychotherapy.

    xx

Leave a Reply

