Skip to content

The happy medium?

January 6, 2009

I’m feeling pretty good today; nothing is bugging me or playing on my mind, I’m not impulsive, just… happy. Nothing is getting me down, I’m relaxed and enjoying things. I like this.

Christmas is finally over, too. The decorations came down today, and summer will be here soon enough. Summer is good. Mind you, so was the snow covered park behind my old college that I went for a walk through today. I felt like I could walk forever, the cold air gently chaffing my lungs but not causing any real damage; it was probably the best walk I’ve had in a while. I got the chance to walk across a lake on ice, walk through the snow and look at the stream. Not to mention take photos! I was so glad I had taken my camera.

The playing field with snow on it

My footprints across the snow!

Okay, it’s not exactly pretty but the ice was this thick:

I like trees too much, apparently. People just don’t realise that they are so nice to photograph! At uni, everytime we go past a tree, we shout ‘Baum’ (tree in German)!

I had to go back to my old college to pick up my German award.

It’s a paperweight! It was strange going back, though. I went to see my old French and German teachers, which was lovely. Just the other bit I didn’t like (being snow balled by chavs on the way in; I felt very on edge). It’s such a lovely place (well the grounds anyway!) But I can’t help but feel I didn’t make the most of it: more walking, better times. I’ve had some of my worst times of my life there, and now I want to go back, do it all again. I don’t know why, but I guess it’s just so pretty, and different to being in the city centre! Being in a huge amount of parkland every day without excuse… who wouldn’t want that?!

I think this marks the transition I’ve made in the last year. How I’ve learnt more about myself, and how I’m learning to like myself. I realised around this time last year my love for walking and parks, so I made sure I indulged that love: going for walks along the river, to the local park, Chorlton Water Park, adventuring and discovering my local landscape instead of sitting inside all day or going shopping to try and “feel” something. I wish I could have done better, but there’s no point dwelling on it; what’s past is past, we have the present and future to count on. I hope it will be good. I don’t want to crash when I get back to Aston.

Now, back to my book; I’m becoming a book worm again! My work is slowly but surely getting done, that’s good. I hope things stay good!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2009 7:43 pm

    *smiles*

  2. January 6, 2009 8:03 pm

    La, I’ve added photos… but I’m silly and pressed post too early!

  3. Lola Snow permalink
    January 6, 2009 8:07 pm

    Lovely lovely lovely. I felt relaxed just reading this, and then I got the added bonus of pictures too! Made my day

    Lola x

  4. January 6, 2009 8:08 pm

    Beautiful pictures πŸ™‚

  5. January 6, 2009 8:15 pm

    I like it too, weirdly enough for winter. Normally hate it A LOT! But, the sun helps and summer is on it’s way πŸ˜€

  6. January 7, 2009 2:16 pm

    Yay to the happy medium. I’m so glad to hear that you are happy – long may it continue.

    Differently

  7. January 7, 2009 7:47 pm

    Bah, it didn’t but let’s not dwell on it!

    xx

  8. Alison permalink
    January 7, 2009 9:41 pm

    Great pictures! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

