Skip to content

The trials and tribulations of purchasing mascara

January 3, 2009

For the decisionally challenged, this task is a nightmare. When buying a new mascara, one is faced with too many questions: brand, length or volume, price! In boots there must be at least 50 to choose from; how do I know which one to go for?! I made a vow that I wouldn’t go cheap, but for someone with relatively few eyelashes, I don’t get what I want from it! I wanted a mascara that neither lengthened nor volumised, which lead to only one option:

Natural Collection, £1.99! I didn’t want to go for the cheapest, but it’s the only one out of them all that didn’t want to stick my eyelashes together, or make them leave marks on my glasses! The last mascara I bought was from dm in Germany, and cost about €3, but it still did the job, and very well thank-you-very-much! Before that, it was the same natural collection one. Oh well, I did try to pass my money onto money making fiends, just they’re all a bit fancy for the likes of me! Eyeliner, however, is a totally different matter and must be approached differently!

I have made a decision: I need to make more effort with myself; I used to wear eye make up, and I felt better about myself. I’ve made a lot of headway in the last few years with trying to stop pulling my eyelashes, eyebrows and hair out… so now is the time to show that effort off. A mini new years’ resolution, but not as strict as that!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Lola Snow permalink
    January 3, 2009 10:57 pm

    I would love to give advice on this, but seeing as it is only recently that I discovered which end of the damn thing to use, I’m hardly an expert! I just bought the big yellow one in boots because I had loads of advantage points to waste. It does seem to make my eyes big, but that could be the tally!!!

    Lola x

  2. January 3, 2009 11:05 pm

    Big, yellow? Don’t think I saw that one! I have lots of advantage points to waste too. My statement just came thorugh; used to be full of make up offers, now cold and flu remedies! I take it they noticed that I go to boots at least once a week to buy some cough medicine, sleep aids or cold and flu stuff then *blushes*
    xx

  3. January 4, 2009 1:47 am

    Mascara is hard. I have issues with waterproof vs. normal. Because, you see, I cry a lot. So waterproof would seem preferable, right? But actually, if you cry in normal mascara then yes it runs down your cheeks, but it can be quite easily wiped off them. If you cry too much in waterproof mascara (particularly if you rub your eyes in the process), it still comes off, but just in gunky clumps that stick to your face, which are sometimes more annoying. At least with normal mascara you get the cinematic tear streaked effect!

  4. January 4, 2009 10:37 am

    Amen. I already have lots of mascara but as they’re quite old I *ought* to buy a new one. I’ve been dithering for ages about which one to buy, both in shops and on-line. eBay is quite good for make-up, btw. Also, http://www.buycosmetics.com

    Did you buy eye-liner, too? Eye-liner is my favourite. My current ‘every day’ one is a liquid black one with glittery bits in. It makes me feel a little bit glam.

    I like make-up.

    *wishes she could come round with her bags and spend an afternoon making over Kate*

  5. January 4, 2009 12:17 pm

    mmmm. eyeliner addict here. Liquid, pencil, gel … I’m like a kid in a sweet shop if I end up in front of a MAC counter, (luckily there isn’t one in this town).

  6. January 4, 2009 5:04 pm

    In the margins: I used to go for waterproof, but then I realised that I was never going to go swimming, so it wasn’t normally necessary and Boots had always sold out. When I cry with normal mascara, it never seems to move anyway!

    La, I’ll have a look at that link! I didn’t buy eyeliner, I already have some… I have a really, really nice sephora one in brown which is lovely, and then a grey and a green rimmel one… but when I next go to france, I’ll be stocking up in sephora! I used to like make up, I don’t know what happened. Probably the fact that when I moved to uni, I couldn’t see in the mirror without my glasses because I’m so short sighted and the mirror was kinda high! Make overs are interesting!

    Ruby: I haven’t investigated the joys of MAC, or urban decay yet for that matter. It all looks intersting, just the people on the counters scare me! (And in Birmingham Boots, they seem to jump out at you!)

    xx

  7. January 4, 2009 5:52 pm

    >>I didn’t buy eyeliner, I already have some…

    PFFT! What kind of excuse is that? =D

    You NEED

    – a black pencil for smoky/mid-sixties looks

    – a black liquid for sophisticated late fifties flicks (You don’t have to be Amy Winehouse or Maria Callas)

    – your choice of purpley pencil (great for light eyes – more natural than black, more lifting than brown)

    – and a white pencil for the lower inside rim and the upper inner corner of the eye near the bridge of the nose (makes eyes bigger, brighter and softer)

    – oh, and a “shaving” mirror (not expensive)

    I like Urban Decay, though it looks cheaper and more cheerful than it actually is (if you know what I mean.) I only buy it on eBay. I bought a sticky dark red lip-gloss last month which I love called GASH =D

    Not so familiar with Mac. My SiL gave me a gift set of their lip-glosses for Christmas but they’re in pinky-brown nude shades I wouldn’t really wear.

  8. January 4, 2009 6:34 pm

    Wowww, la! I think I’ll be needing a trip shopping soon… I have a shaving mirror already though!

    Black is a bit horroresque on me, maybe in the old days I just wasn’t too great at it!

    I sometimes wish I didn’t wear glasses, my eyes look prettier without!

    I think I only possess one lip gloss too… *waits for la to explode!* 😀

    xx

  9. January 4, 2009 7:02 pm

    *promptly explodes*

  10. January 4, 2009 7:08 pm

    Thank you, La! *cleans La up*

    I’ll be sure to correct the situation asap!

  11. Alison permalink
    January 4, 2009 8:33 pm

    I had to laugh at Lola’s response I also just bought the big yellow one in boots… Maybelline although not with advantage points but when I was having a major splurge last month!

    http://www.maybelline.co.uk/PRODUCTS/Eyes/MASCARA/The_Colossal_Volum_Express_Mascara.aspxI

    I have to admit I feel a little more human if I make up my eyes a little and make an effort… the big yellow one is good, I noticed a difference with it, the downside they only have it in black but it’s still nice! Eyeliner, I just located a good one from Avon, can’t for the life of me remember what it’s called but it’s smooth to apply and doesn’t need sharpening!

  12. January 5, 2009 6:47 pm

    I don’t think I looked that far, and I did look at Maybelline quite a lot! I don’t have even enough eyelashes for that one!

    I need to sharpen my eye pencil, but my good sharpener is in Brum. Think my sis’ needs nicking! (temporarily)

Leave a Reply

