Skip to content

Home?

January 2, 2009

I close both locks below the window.
I close both blinds and turn away.
Sometimes solutions aren’t so simple.
Sometimes goodbye’s the only way.

And the sun will set for you,
The sun will set for you.
And the shadow of the day,
Will embrace the world in grey,
And the sun will set for you.

Pink cards and flowers on your window,
Your friends all plead for you to stay.
Sometimes beginnings aren’t so simple.
Sometimes goodbye’s the only way.

And the sun will set for you,
The sun will set for you.
And the shadow of the day,
Will embrace the world in grey,
And the sun will set for you.

My sun is setting; the day is coming ever closer. I can’t cope anymore. This Manchester/Birmingham/Manchester swapping around is really getting me down. In my first few weeks I had to stay away from Manchester and just get on with things, and now I’m scared that going back will bring the same problems.

Birmingham? Manchester? Where’s it to be, because I can’t keep swapping around like this.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2009 11:59 am

    I went through a similar thing when I first went to Uni. It does get easier, since this time you’re not going back to an unknown quantity – you already know your flatmates/lay of the land etc. I found that when I went back after the christmas hols in the first year I was soon back into the swing of things. Hope your experience is similar.

    Differently

    PS I liked the poem.

  2. January 3, 2009 1:16 pm

    The “poem” is lyrics from Shadow of the day by Linkin Park!
    I just related to it when I heard it yesterday.

    I hope things sort out quickly too, a week left before I go back!
    xx

  3. January 3, 2009 1:37 pm

    Wow your back early. I am sure that once you get back to brum it will feel like you never left. And if you are not so keen on all the changes of moving places all the time you could try not going back to manchester on so many weekends. Hannah X

  4. January 3, 2009 1:39 pm

    Ehh that thing about coming home less sounded a bit harsh. I didnt mean it that way, sometime I jsust explain things in a very crude way. Hope you dont mind . X

  5. January 3, 2009 1:59 pm

    Back early :s from where? Or you mean uni starts early? Term doesn’t start till the 30th, but I have exams before!

    And no, I understand what you mean about not going home so much… I only went home 3 weekends last term, but I don’t seem to suffer as much when it’s only a couple of days; It’s worse right now because I’ve been home so long, got back into the swing of things… then it all changes again! I do understand and don’t worry xx

Leave a Reply

