Skip to content

Wondering how long citalopram takes to kick in

November 26, 2008

I was just wondering if anyone knows how long it takes for citalopram to kick in, in terms of hours.

It’s just I take it in a morning, and come 9pm I’m feeling pretty okay; motivated and happy, but the rest of the day is utter rubbish.

Would it be worth taking it before I went to bed perhaps, or is this just coicidence?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2008 10:14 pm

    When I was on citalopram, I was told to take it just before I went to sleep…. x

  2. Lola Snow permalink
    November 26, 2008 10:26 pm

    The half life is about a 1.5 days. so within 1.5 days the amount in your system will have halved.

  3. November 27, 2008 12:26 am

    TBH I reckon that’s just a coincidence. I feel equally rubbish at all times of day.

    Though I no longer feel (much) as if something is crawling up my back. Woot!

  4. November 27, 2008 1:48 am

    I wouldn’t take it at night whatever you do, as it’s an SSRI it can make you agitated. I read that you had similar problems with agitation on fluoexitine. So as it’s the same category it’s likely to affect you in a similar way. So if fluoexitine sent you hyper, taking citalopram at night is likely to screw your sleep up.
    xxx

  5. November 27, 2008 9:38 am

    I suspect that’s coincidence. You haven’t been on it that long either so I doubt it’s doing much yet.

  6. November 27, 2008 11:03 am

    According to the data sheet, blood levels rise to a maximum after four hours then fall gradually.

    After 24 hours, when you take the next dose, there’s still nearly two-thirds left. So each dose is a top-up, not a kick-in. These are just blood levels, though. The effect on your mood might lag behind.

    Taking it at night, as Princess Gracie did, is common enough. It sounds to me like it’s worth a try.

  7. November 27, 2008 12:15 pm

    You’ve not been on it long, “Tally” didn’t really agree with me [in a throwing-up sense], and I was taken it in the mornings, but ask your Doctor if it’s better taken at night? That’s when I take my Venlafaxine…
    GG
    xxx

  8. Alison permalink
    November 27, 2008 9:38 pm

    I don’t remember, it seems so long ago since I last took it now… I hope it works for you!

  9. November 27, 2008 11:58 pm

    Thanks guys for all your comments! I’m not really up to answering now, but I am definitely thinking of changing the time when I take it, and I will see how it goes. I must remember I’ve only been on it a week so can’t expect big things!
    xx

    • Lisa permalink
      March 15, 2011 4:03 pm

      I’ve been taking it for about six weeks now, and i have been dragging everyday and need a nap at noon. although it works for anxiety and panic attacks. So i started taking it at bed time and wala i wake up feeling good and energized not dizzy and tired..best case ask your Dr.

Leave a Reply

