Skip to content

Too close to home, pt 2

November 24, 2008

I’m sitting here waiting for my German listening task to finish downloading, which’d be okay except I’m several weeks behind and week 6’s is about eating disorders. I’m sorry if I seem pissy about this, but I’m quite fragile and just the word “bulimie” “magersucht” and “Essstörung” is sending daggers through my heart. This isn’t going to be easy; it’s going to be 20 minutes of sheer and utter hell. My teacher has given us food ones since the start of the year, we’re now on week 8, 8 weeks of hell listening to these tasks trying not to think about the food.

But doing these tasks is the only thing I can do right now, the only thing I have to that’ll actually make a difference in the end. I have to do 18 of these by the end of the year, all my other work on this A7 piece of paper is irrelevant, if I don’t do it then no-one’ll know the difference. I just need to start clearing my back log using baby steps: I’ve written 4 tasks I have to do by the end of today: one of these listening tasks, clear my German grammar backlog, an essay for linguistics and Beating the blues, seeing as I’ve kind of neglected that too recently.

Wish me luck, I’m going to need it. If I could stay in bed, I would.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2008 11:22 am

    Viel Glück!

  2. November 24, 2008 12:27 pm

    Danke Schoen. Es war scheiss und jetzt fuehl mich auch so scheiss… Ich habe gut vokabel gelernt: Abfuehrmittel, also wenn ich in Deutschland fahre… kenne ich der wort. Danke Schoen Universitaet!
    (Thanks, it was shit and now I feel really bad. I’ve learnt good vocabulary: laxatives, so when I go to Germany, I know the words I need. Thank you uni).
    I don’t think I needed a listening task on eating disorders tbh. Hell os over now at least so I’m going to do something else for a bit to forget the utter rubbishness of that task!

Leave a Reply

