Skip to content

Right place, right time

November 19, 2008
tags:

So, I was rambling through my Google Reader and chanced upon Gutter Girl’s blog, with a meme… so I’ve done it!

Here are the rules:
Pass it on to five other bloggers, and tell them to open the nearest book to page 56. Write out the fifth sentence on that page, and also the next two to five sentences. The CLOSEST BOOK, NOT YOUR FAVORITE, OR MOST INTELLECTUAL!

Unfortunately, this book, like most in my room is rather intellectual and goes by the delightful name of “France in Modern Times” and this is what you’re missing out on! (It could have been all in German, unluckily for you all…)

“Out of these fears came a plot hatched within the Convention itself, with the ex- terrorist Joseph Fouché as its key figure. Late in July 1794 (the month of Thermidor in the new revolutionary calendar) the plotters challenged the man whom they secretly called the “dictator”. They howled him down on the floor of the convention and voted the arrest of the Robespierreist leaders. In the middle of a night of confusion, during which the Robespierreists…” I think I just fell asleep. Interesting stuff! I “love” history…

So, I’m goingg to tag:

Hannah, Em, Suzy in an attempt to make her blog, Chouette andddNimi 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Lola Snow permalink
    November 19, 2008 5:39 pm

    That sounds fascinating….
    Ha Ha! I can’t wait to see what Chouette comes up with on this one (Quantum Mechanics?)

  2. November 19, 2008 6:42 pm

    It isn’t. It’s an hour for about 10 pages *cries* I was supposed to finish it last week but I’m maybe a quarter of a way thorugh?! It’s so dry…

  3. November 19, 2008 7:49 pm

    Aw, I know what you mean, I pick up a nursing book and all the words seem to blur into one big meaningless mess. Huh? Social stratification? Do I really give a rat’s arse???

    GG
    xxx

  4. November 19, 2008 7:56 pm

    Why is it that every subject but one’s own is interesting?! The psychology books in front of me= YAY! the history and grammr books, less so…!

  5. November 20, 2008 4:57 pm

    Well nyehh, I already saw this meme and liked it, so I posted my answers onto Lexie’s meme post, and so you’ll have to go over to Teenage Misanthropy and find his post if you want to know what was on page 56 of Earthquake Weather. 😛

    Suzy x

  6. November 20, 2008 6:18 pm

    I’ll consider that, Suzy.

Leave a Reply

