Skip to content

How to come off cloud 9?

November 19, 2008

So, my mood has flipped again from suicidal to that weird happiness thing again… slightly more pleasant but I can’t calm down and I have a lot of work to do. So, if anyone’s reading this, has anyone has any ideas about how the hell to get off this, I’d be amazingly greatful.

Right, I’m going for a skip (yes, you heard me correctly but I really need to do some work and really can’t concentrate on it… I’ve been trying to write a summary for 4 hours now, I have 2 paragraphs and have danced and eaten A LOT.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2008 8:55 pm

    Kate.

    STOP.

    TAKING.

    THE.

    DAMN.

    FLUOXETINE.

    πŸ™‚

  2. November 19, 2008 8:57 pm

    Kate…

    Stop

    Taking

    The

    Damn

    Fluoxetine!

    (I put it in caps before, but I think it got spammed… whoops)

  3. November 19, 2008 9:14 pm

    They both got spammed.
    Back and still on cloud 9. Really need to, I think. Thankfully docs tomorrow.
    A load of people I know just saw me skipping and singing through town. The shame!

  4. Lola Snow permalink
    November 19, 2008 10:09 pm

    I’m so jealous 😦
    But I remember where it got me.
    That would be BIG trouble.
    boooooooo hissssss.
    ***Glances longingly at hidden stash of prozac in medicine cabinet*****
    It could be sooooo good.
    But it’s not when you wake up 6 weeks later, and look at the complete path of chaos and destruction you have left in your wake!

  5. November 19, 2008 10:25 pm

    Considering how many people in the blogosphere have had trouble with Prozac, i really wonder why so many people are put on it.

    What makes the difference?

  6. November 19, 2008 10:31 pm

    Yeah, that’s what I’m wondering Chouette, I mean if people have to be monitored closely when put on it, then why is it still the first port of call?!

    And Lola, please don’t be jealous. I’m locked in my room convulsing and talking to myself crazily… it’s not fun! Why has this taken 2 months?!

  7. November 20, 2008 12:34 pm

    More prozac induced hypomania?! This is getting silly now.

  8. November 20, 2008 4:02 pm

    Prozac is silly.

    Are you off it yet, Kate?

  9. November 20, 2008 4:26 pm

    I have a brand spanking new prescription for citalopram. She wanted to up my dose of fluoxetine… wtf?!

  10. November 20, 2008 4:30 pm

    I had the same wanting to up my Fluoxetine when I was bouncing off the walls with agitation! Idiots.

    I ended up on Citalopram next too. Why is it always the Prozac and then the Citalopram?

    My Venlaxfaine seems to be doing something similar to the Prozac now though.. bah! I’ve been channelling my energy into the Wii all afternoon and now my arms ache!

  11. November 20, 2008 4:34 pm

    I don’t know, but apparently citalopram is newer. What does that have to do with anything?!

  12. November 20, 2008 6:30 pm

    It doesn’t fuck quite as much with your brain, it’s “cleaner”.

    Or so the choc teapot says.

  13. November 20, 2008 6:31 pm

    Whoops, please excuse my French 😳

  14. November 20, 2008 8:48 pm

    Sorry, run that one by me again…

  15. cbtish permalink
    November 20, 2008 9:21 pm

    Fluoxetine is cheaper, so they try it first. The whole NHS strategy is driven by cost versus effectiveness calculations. The cost part does not include the cost to you of being ill, by the way, only the cost to the NHS of treating you.

    I have never heard of citalopram being “cleaner”. It works in the same way as fluoxetine. There is a new “clean” version of citalopram called escitalopram, but it’s more expensive and it’s not clear that it has any real advantages.

  16. November 20, 2008 9:33 pm

    Typical NHS. Doesn’t surprise me… Jaded NHS worker at all cbtish?!

    And the choc teapot is plain weird, cbtish, so anything that comes out of his mouth will be a bit weird!

  17. cbtish permalink
    November 20, 2008 10:21 pm

    I have never worked for the NHS. Had a narrow escape, long ago, though πŸ˜‰ Jaded? I hope not. I aim for optimistic cynicism. Lots of really good people work in the NHS, interspersed with…er…teapots.

  18. November 21, 2008 8:40 am

    I’ve had good workers. Just never for long enough! Like my old counsellor, the MHW I will only see once more, my old CBT person. All great just never for long enough!
    And okay, optimistic cynicism!

Leave a Reply

