Skip to content

Hmm, right.

November 14, 2008

I have a feeling fluoxetine may actually be working, which is a bit of a shame seeing as the past couple of weeks have been sheer and utter hell. Things are feeling more copeable and positive, which is good… just I’m scared of things going pear shaped again. I’m still going to chase up the uni counselling services

BUT

I’m beginning to wonder if I should just let things go, take away all my involvement with services and see how it goes? I’m thinking that because this all started around my time of getting involved with the mental health services this time last year… so was it naturally going to be like this, or was it the involvement? Questions with no answers…

22 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2008 7:11 pm

    This isn’t linked to my ponderings on a similar line, is it?

  2. November 14, 2008 7:44 pm

    As in Mania?

  3. November 14, 2008 9:50 pm

    Btw, on that particular subject, I think if by now things haven’t gone pear-shaped for you in the way that they did for me, then they’re unlikely to go pear shaped in that particular way at all on fluox. People were surprised it took me so long…

  4. November 14, 2008 10:07 pm

    Oh, well I’m kinda being discharged anyway, so I don’t have the choice of self discharge. Time, it appears, with the MHW is limited to something along the lines of 7 sessions (like normally really…) so I guess for me it’s whether I try and get more help or sit back and see…

    And yeah, I think if anything was going to go wrong, it should have done by now!

    xx

  5. November 14, 2008 10:18 pm

    True, mine is supposed to be time-limited as well (and they were upfront about that at my assessment), so I really need to have that out with the choc teapot on Monday (amongst other things), as he has mentioned no such thing.

    Is there anything like Kooth or 42nd in Brum?

  6. November 14, 2008 10:28 pm

    Yeah but choc teapot seems to have completely different rules to everyone else!

    If there is anything like kooth or 42nd st, I haven’t been told about it BUT I’m gonna ask… purely cos it makes sense to and then I’ll know the answer! I just got told uni services… and on the back of that it says 2 other places, which i may well google but I was going to see how the uni stuff worked out… just I don’t know if I want help or not (shouldn’t it be obvious?!)

  7. November 14, 2008 11:14 pm

    It’s never obvious, I reckon it’s better for you to have the help than for everything to go cock-eyed without it x

    Sometimes I wonder if I’d be better off without services too, as I was scraping along OK before, but I’d be dead by now I think, quite frankly.

  8. November 14, 2008 11:50 pm

    Yeah, that’s my dilemma, see… If I have help and things go wrong it’s okay, if I don’t it’s harder to…. I’ll have the weekend and the next 4 weeks to mull things over!

    xx

  9. November 15, 2008 12:23 am

    Well, I hope you come to the right decision x

    Gonna try and have it out with the choc teapot on Mon, then run my thoughts past my worker at 42nd street if necessary before making any big decisions myself.

    I just wish there was support available out there without having to work so hard to get it. If we could work hard enough to get the support, we wouldn’t need it in the first place…

    Btw, shouldn’t being suicidal allow you to ask to be referred to the CMHT, since the PCHMT don’t do that kind of stuff? That’s what I was told… (not that I ever have, mind)

  10. November 15, 2008 12:24 pm

    Good luck for monday, I hope you reach some decision and that he doesn’t go hippie on you!

    About the CMHT, well apparently the problem is because I’m a bit too serious for the PCMHT but not enough for the CMHT they wouldn’t accept me/if they did I’d keep being bounced around and not given support because more serious people need it… if that makes sense.

    Good luck xx

  11. November 15, 2008 2:56 pm

    Yeah, that makes sense (and sounds familiar).

    MH services really annoy me sometimes. They wouldn’t treat us like this if we had physical illnesses…

    “Oh, I’m sorry, you’ll have to wait till you’re a lot worse before we can treat you, but noone else can help you either, except your GP, who knows jack shit. If you want more help you’ll have to go on a 5 month waiting list for 6 weeks of help every time you want it”

    Grrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

  12. November 15, 2008 4:01 pm

    It’s shit. But can anything actually be done? Probably not. Yay, defeatest thinking, but th truth…

  13. cbtish permalink
    November 15, 2008 6:01 pm

    So…you have a mental illness that started when you developed a phobia at the age of seven, and it has worsened with periods of depression, suicidal thinking and hearing voices. Can anything be done? Yes. All that can be cured. Why has no one cured it for you? Ah…well…some questions have no answers. But somewhere inside those mental health services there are people who can do it.

  14. November 15, 2008 6:13 pm

    Problem is cbtish… who? and when?!

  15. cbtish permalink
    November 16, 2008 2:52 pm

    The who and the when are your GP’s job. How would you feel about using an NHS advocate to help you get better service through your GP? There’s a rather boring factsheet here, with contacts at the end: http://www.mentalhealthshop.org/document.rm?id=2586

  16. November 16, 2008 3:11 pm

    The problem isn’t really with her, it’s the MHTs. She wants to refer me to the CMHT, but my MHW says I’ll get bounced around/rejected. I could still ask her to refer me and see what happens, but with that in mind it seems kinda pointless! I think I’m going to ask her about young people’s services when I next go, like I had back home…

  17. November 16, 2008 5:43 pm

    That sounds like a good way forward πŸ™‚

  18. November 16, 2008 5:46 pm

    I’m just hoping that with that line there is actually a way forwards!

  19. cbtish permalink
    November 16, 2008 5:56 pm

    If your GP is on your side, that’s great. I think she should go ahead and refer you. What’s to lose? If they bounce you or make you wait a long time or whatever, she can refer you to another trust. You’re not stuck with the local CMHT.

    Support services are good, too, but support is not cure. From what I’ve read here, you can be cured. (Chouette too, by the way.)

  20. November 16, 2008 6:03 pm

    I’m not so sure about myself, since apparently a tendancy towards depression does run in my familly. Never have a future episode, yes, hopefully. “Cure”, no. That would require changing what makes me *me*.

  21. November 16, 2008 10:48 pm

    Cbtish: I know when I lived in Manchester you could only use the trust you lived in (so I couldn’t use the same one as my PCMHT and Drs was in…) but well we’ll see!

    I guess if I could get the eating treatment that’d be a huuuge step in the right direction, so yeah I really don’t see a reason why I shouldn’t just ignore the MHW πŸ˜‰

    I know what you mean though, support isn’t the cure but I find talking it through helps= solving problems πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

