Skip to content

Shouting loudly in an empty forest

November 4, 2008

So, today I went to the doctors for a checkup and seeing how well I’m getting on with fluoxetine (I’m not). We discussed everything that’s going on and she’s keeping me on it for another 2 weeks to see if there is any improvement. I’m slightly upset by this because what’s going on is scaring me a bit and I’m finding it quite hard to cope with. However, she is also thinking of referring me to the CMHT so we can also address my eating as well as depression. That is good, just I’ve got used to seeing the guy that I am seeing, and I’m scared that the CMHT will screw me around and stuff. I really don’t know what I want apart from to be better.

If I was to be referred to the CMHT, I’d probably lose my support from the MHW and I have to say it’s conveinient there than trekking all the way to Edgbaston whenever. I guess we’ll have to see how it all pans out…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lola Snow permalink
    November 5, 2008 3:02 pm

    I bet it doesn’t seem like it, because you have no concrete changes from one appointment, but that is a huge amount of stuff sorted! OK it’s not great that you have 2 weeks on the prozac, but it is good that you told them. So you are now in the position where a) it’s actually going to work, but you just take a bit longer than some or b) you get to go back and say “Nah nah I told you sooooo!” which is ALWAYS good fun!

    Can you try and fill as much of the next 2 weeks up, (as you can without overdoing it), so that you don’t feel too isolated? I take it you have classes and stuff during the day? Can you get a bit of a routine going in the evening so it doesn’t seem so long? Just a thought, it can really help to break things into chunks, its less overwhelming.

    Great news about the eating too. Really it is. Clearly it’s not helping, and even if the drugs are making it worse, there’s probably something underneath. They might say you are too depressed at the moment to do treatment of any kind, but I should think they will support you in the meantime, and lets face it, support when you are low is pretty damn important, no matter how tough you are.

    Lola x

  2. November 5, 2008 6:19 pm

    OOh, I like causing chaos… and I like being right too, so I’ll see how good old flux goes on over the next 2 weeks.

    I’m trying to do as much as possible to keep busy, but it doesn’t help that I appear to be going down with the flu! I’ll just keep trying, and I am trying to keep going out a lot but I just hit blah after a while! I have for beating the blues this weekly plan thing to do, so I’m trying to follow that and do something enjoyable every day… difficult at times but at the end of the day I need to.

    And about eating, I know it’s good it’s okay but meh, how long until again (until I next go home I suspect!)

    xx

  3. November 6, 2008 6:10 am

    Good luck with everything Kate x

  4. November 6, 2008 11:19 am

    Thanks em xx

Leave a Reply

