Skip to content

Home is the best place in the world?

November 2, 2008

A friend’s party and family do has driven me to return to Manchester and despite my worries, things are touchwood okay. In fact, I have a strange yearning to be back in Birmingham, something I never thought would happen! The silence, however is slightly uncomfortable because in halls there is always something going on! The differences are amazing: the freedom to do whatever whenever, but against not having to lock a door whenever you leave a room; not having to wash up the second you’ve finished eating and more importantly toilet roll in the bathroom! Looking around my room it’s amazing the difference 5 weeks has had: I’ve spoken to perhaps 5 of the people in pictures on my walls and not really thought about them, and then there’s the list of things I need to take back to Brum with a list of names and 5 weeks ago I’d never met these people, but now these are important people to me.

But the question is: where is home? The place I live most of the time? The place I grew up in? Somewhere I’m comfortable with? Because I don’t know I could ever come home properly to live in this house again with my parents. I’ve changed a lot, and had a lot of different experiences that I can’t have here. Birmingham is increasingly the place I call home. The place where I live, because really, I do more than just study there. I always say I’m originally from Manchester but now I’m in Birmingham. So, great. But how do you know where is home, and can you have more than one?!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2008 2:34 pm

    It’s terribly tacky to link to my own posts, I know but it does save typing it all out again.

    http://simpleharmonicmuddle.wordpress.com/2008/08/22/homesickness/

    I certainly don’t have one single “home”. The cliche is that “home is where the heart is”, and my heart’s been spread all over the shop. Some of it is back with the people where I grew up, some of it is still with that community, most of it is here, in Manchester.

    The fashion amongst me and my friends is to refer to “home”, “home home”, etc. So Birmingham would be your home, and Manchester would be your home home 😀

  2. Lola Snow permalink
    November 2, 2008 4:48 pm

    I can’t add more than what Chouette said really. You get to decide, that’s the important thing. It’s not a case of where you belong, it’s a case of where you choose to be. I’m still looking for my home, the place i share certainly isn’t my home, but it’s ok for now. I’m aiming for the penthouse Canary Wharf apartment, but might have to settle for a caravan in Weymouth 🙂

  3. November 2, 2008 5:43 pm

    [inanity alert]
    Where Is Home? is an excellent song by Bloc Party.
    [/end inanity alert]

    Spiritually home is that lovely place by the name of Bwlchyf-won’t-give-you-the-last-letters. Unfortunately circumstances and nationalty have combined to cause me to live in a place a little more English. So I reckon it’s wherever you feel best.

    I should have put that inanity alert closer down here, shouldn’t I? 😕

    Suzy x

  4. November 2, 2008 9:06 pm

    Chouette, I’ll read that now. The home and home home thing could get a bit confusing but maybe that’s just me, because I’d forget which was around they were! That’s a really interesting post actually… I guess quite a lot of people go through this, or maybe I just like naming things!

    Lola, then home is Birmingham. I can’t wait to get back there… I now know why I wanted to get away so badly…

    Suzy, kinda what I said to Lola: Brum! Cept tomorrow I’ll probably be saying something else…

    xx

  5. November 3, 2008 11:35 pm

    Going back to what I said, I just got a text from someone at the community that started… (in reply to my asking how they all were)

    “All seem ok at home”

    I think the waters just got muddied a little further!

    Perhaps I should take to calling everywhere home. I would be much simplier 😀

  6. November 4, 2008 1:02 am

    I think so too! If you feel comfortable there then why not?!

Leave a Reply

