Skip to content

Halloween and Mental Illness

November 1, 2008

Okay, slight ranty post so I’ll put it under a read more thingy.

I am sick to death today of people making fun of mental illnesses. To me it is beyond a joke to dress up as someone who is mentally ill (you don’t even want to see their stereotypes) and write various “funny” comments on their backs. It is not funny. Maybe I should lighten up, but I really don’t know.

And another thing, suicide. There were some suicides in the towers not so long ago (last year I think) and today the police were called to an incident in one of them. The reaction of people: “oh, someone’s probably committed suicide again”. This comment angers me, for two reasons: trivialising something that serious, and also the way that nearly every day I am hearing jokes about committing suicide. It is not funny. These comments are acting as triggers to me. I know they don’t know all that, but I wish things like this would be taken more seriously, because I can’t take the jokes for much longer before something pops.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Lola Snow permalink
    November 1, 2008 3:51 pm

    I think it comes into the bracket of allowed hypocrisy. Like I can make horribly inappropriate jokes about eating disorders because I have one, or people from one ethnic group of sexual preference can mock their own stereotype. It’s a fairly sustantial coping mechanism, when all else fails, then laugh. You know the “I’m mad, your mad, she’s mad” comradery

    But no, it is offensive when it is mocking against a person or group. People are stupid, but they are also ignorant.

    Lola x

  2. November 1, 2008 4:55 pm

    I guess it is, and I’m just being too uptight! I snap every now and again, and I guess that constant triggers don’t help!!
    xx

  3. November 1, 2008 5:46 pm

    I wanted to make a post (but I held back because I stick to my word when I give it). It’s not quite the same thing but I’m set off by violence… and I’ve just read American Psycho. Don’t do it. I thought I had a strong stomach but I was sobbing with fear and disgust by halfway through and I currently feel like I’ll never be able to trust anyone again.

    Oh sheesh, now I’m dredging it all up again. Get lost, Patrick. Go kill someone with a nail gun. πŸ˜•

    (I can’t stop this now, can I? πŸ˜‰ ) Suzy x

  4. November 1, 2008 6:15 pm

    Never heard of it, but I guess the title should be a hint!!
    Erm. I’d bury it tbh πŸ˜‰
    xx

  5. November 1, 2008 8:35 pm

    I bury: book? Body? Nail gun? Sign-off? πŸ˜•

    It’s a modern feckin classic! You philistine! πŸ˜‰

    Suzy x

  6. Charlotte permalink
    November 1, 2008 9:22 pm

    Kate, I know exactly what you mean! I’m the same when people talk about depression and suicide. It really irritates me and puts me on edge. I nearly flipped out a few weeks ago at someone who was talking about depression all being in the head. I walked out of their house in the end :p
    Hope you are ok? xxx

  7. Lola Snow permalink
    November 2, 2008 12:02 am

    Nah Kate, don’t think you are uptight, not if you are struggling with all sorts of stuff, I think you are entitled to get annoyed.

    it is irritating when people who know diddly squat about suicide make light of it, or worse, that sort of rubber necking, people treating it like exciting news, now that is sick. It’s a fine line. a bit like when the media always cast the bad guy as a “psycho” or “a nutter” with little regard for public perception or stigma already rooted in society.

    But I tend to view “The general public” ie those with no experience who rely on the daily sport for their opinions, as “works in progress”!
    don’t let them grind you down!

    xx Lola

  8. November 2, 2008 9:45 am

    Suzy: I’ll read it when I finish extension du domaine de la lutte, a modern french history, deutsche geschichte in schlaglichtern and modern german history. Just that takes me to xmas I’m sure!

    Lola, I just thought of another annoying example: in French culture we were reading L’Γ©tranger by camus and the conversation comes up: is Merursault a psychopath? Everyone said yes, because he was a bit weird but to me it’s something completely different to what they think. Agh. I’ll go back to bed and stop thinking of more examples!

    I’ll try not to let them get to me!

    xx

  9. November 2, 2008 9:50 am

    Charlotte, I think it’s as Lola’s said above: the unwashed uneducated masses don’t have a clue! I’ll just have to make it my mantra or something…

    I’m okay. Being back home is weird!
    xx

  10. November 2, 2008 5:36 pm

    Oh, catch her with her pretentious reading list. πŸ˜‰

    Suzy x

  11. November 2, 2008 9:00 pm

    Pretentious?! Meh. I’ll get back to reading…
    xx

  12. November 2, 2008 9:25 pm

    Kate, I didn’t know you did French? πŸ˜€

  13. November 2, 2008 9:38 pm

    Yup, the random art of French and German… what did you think I did?!

  14. November 2, 2008 9:42 pm

    I didn’t have a clue! (and I’m really sorry if I was supposed to have known :oops:)

    So, at least one person understands when my blog posts suddenly sprout random bits of French πŸ˜€

  15. November 2, 2008 9:45 pm

    Heh, don’t worry! I just thought it was common knowledge, but hey thats just me!

    And I do indeed understand, just probably don’t say anything in case I’ve got it wrong (I had to look up Chouette :$) I suck! πŸ˜‰

  16. November 2, 2008 9:50 pm

    Don’t worry, I highly doubt you’re any worse than I am!

    Probably much better! πŸ˜€

  17. November 2, 2008 9:51 pm

    Every day I doubt my ability more… but hey. I need to shut up about myself and stop being so negative according to my computer. I HATE computer CBT a lot… grr. I really will shut up now!

Leave a Reply

