Skip to content

Pictures I shouldn’t be painting: putting things into perspective

October 16, 2008

I had a chat with one of my floor mates last night about things, about the homesickness and generally how I’m feeling. And it made me realise something: I’m hailing Manchester as this god that makes everything right. That if I go home I’ll be feeling fine again. Except I won’t. Manchester brought this on, Manchester is where I’ve lived until now, so it won’t solve anything. I think going home will mean happiness, I’ll be around people that care and love for me, but I won’t. People have gone to university, I no longer have my job there so if I do go home then there’ll be nothing to do.

Birmingham annoys the hell out of me some times. The flat, the people, the place…. everything. But strip it down and it’s great… freedom, independence and you have to look past the bad things, because at the end of the day what matters is that you’ll remember the good times and not the bad, no matter how bad I’m feeling right now.

Manchester isn’t the place I’m making it out to be, it won’t solve my problems, and more importantly things here will improve.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lola Snow permalink
    October 17, 2008 10:09 pm

    Hiya Kate,
    Just checking in. I’ve realised tonight that half the blogs I was following have disappeared off my reader. I’m glad things seem a bit more in perspective for you.
    Lola x

  2. October 18, 2008 8:41 am

    Oh, that’s not good :s And that for some reason your comment needed moderation but you’ve commented me before?!

    I’m trying to keep them in perspective but it’s hard to keep believing it sometimes, like when the bathroom is vomit comet (centurion is badddd!)

    xx

  3. Lola Snow permalink
    October 18, 2008 10:13 am

    It is tough, but you have a lot on your plate to cope with. Having all the mental health side of stuff as well as a HUGE relocation, no wonder you are looking to any coping strategy you have. Most people only have one of those to deal with at a time, you have taken on both, and despite what you might think, you seem to be doing quite a good job of it!

    The first few weeks after the novelty wears off from any change are the worst, but in a month of so, you’ll have routines, and get into the rhythm of being somewhere new. Find favourite places, and familiar people, and things will start looking a lot brighter.
    Lola x

  4. October 18, 2008 11:38 am

    I know what you mean about the novelty wearing off… homesickness has been kicking in badly, as the post before this said, but I’m trying… the places bit is a bit of a problem, but it just means I need to look around more!

    xx

Leave a Reply

