Skip to content

Flu, fluoxetine and beating the blues

October 8, 2008

I’m currently bearing the brunt of freshers’ flu but otherwise things are looking healthy(ish). My student loan has finally hit my bank account (yay!) so I’m no longer worrying about how I’m going to pay for my accommodation.

University is going well too, I’ve fallen asleep in 2 of my 5 lectures so far but I’ll not dress so warmly next time and hope there’s no fire alarm at crazy hour!

I had another session with the mental health worker and he’s set me up on ‘Beat The Blues’, a web based course of CBT, which is all well and good but: 1) I have no printer and it keeps trying to print things out, and I can’t save them to my computer to look at later; 2) My internet is so rubbish I can’t play the clips, and there are no pauses/stop buttons to let it buffer before I watch and 3) confidentiality. A report about things you’ve entered is sent back to your clinician, you get to sell your life away to them… I try to tell the truth but maybe I won’t in the future. He knows now my every move and thought: this combined with the weekly activity sheet!

I’m waiting for a call from the electrical safety testing people who are coming to chop the plugs off my equipment; I hope my appliances pass or I will not be a happy bunny… what the hell am I going to do with plugless straighteners or laptop?! A lot of this stuff is less than 6 months old, and all to european standards, but I think the university is being more stringent! I’ve seen a lot of straighteners bite the dust and in a way I can see why they are pretty dangerous, but like with a lot of things, if you exercise caution then there’s pretty much nothing that can happen! I won’t be impressed if mine do, seeing as I only use them once in a blue moon and could have left them at home!

Fluoxetine wise: I’m so ill I can’t tell the side effects away from the illness… but I’m okay so far (I think!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2008 3:01 am

    Wow, sounds like you’re really busy.

    (most inane comment ever, but never mind – sorry ’bout that!)

  2. October 9, 2008 11:21 am

    Heh, I don’t mind 🙂
    I do seem to be getting really busy, which I never imagined looking at my timetable… a lot of reading is being set and I understand none of it, so I’m guessing that’s where all the time is going!
    xx

Leave a Reply

