Skip to content

Crash Bang

October 3, 2008

This week has been fairly productive mental health treatment wise, on tuesday I had a meeting with the nurse, who set me up with an appointment for the doctor to talk about everything.

Then on thursday, I went to see the doctor, who sent me away with a diagnostic questionnaire and tells me to come back asap to set up a treatment plan. She also made me an appointment with the mental health worker for that afternoon.

I went to see him, and it was a form of assessment, and I got to air my problems with eating (or not as the case may be), which I’m pleased about because it’s something that’s getting worse and I’d say is one of the main things keeping me like this (I think, anyway). He told me about some good places in Birmingham, like parks and museums I might like, which was really good. They’re all really nice at the medical centre which is good! He does CBT type stuff, so that’s what I’m going to be doing! He sent me away with a weekly activity schedule to meter my mood. I’m seeing him again on tuesday.

Then today (friday): I went to see the doctor again, and we went through the questionnaire she’d given me, and I now have a packet of prozac sitting in front of me. I don’t really know how I feel in relation to this, but I guess I’ve tried a lot of stuff and it’s not really worked. I’m slightly worried about the potential side effect of increased suicidal ideation, because I’m already pretty bad, and if it gets worse, bad things could happen. I am being closely monitored, though, so hopefully nothing bad can happen… emphasis on the word hopefully!

Right, now I need to don my clown costume and go to my last freshers week event: a 118 ball. Quel joy…

For any of you reading this that have taken prozac/fluoxetine, when is it best to take it? Thank you!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2008 7:17 pm

    I used to take it in the morning I think, but its been such a long time since I was on it I might be wrong. Hope things are going ok. Hannah X

  2. Lola Snow permalink
    October 4, 2008 9:49 pm

    Hello
    I used to take fluoxetine in the morning, it can make you a little queasy to start with, though they probably told you that. Hope it helps. It worked a little too well for me he he he! Hope you enjoyed freshers
    Lola x

  3. October 4, 2008 10:55 pm

    It sounds like the support finally got off to a better start for you in Brum! Long may it continue! I have been on Prozac / Fluoxetine some 8 years ago now and sadly it didn’t work for me, it sent me slightly manic so I stopped it within weeks. I use to take it in the morning as well! Good Luck!

  4. October 4, 2008 11:07 pm

    I started it this morning, well it was more like midday, but I might take it a wee bit earlier from now on, because if I take it religiously at 11am, I’ll probably forget! I just don’t want to have to wake up when I’m asleep…
    Lola, I was hoping that was something to do with if I ate something bad, because I thought day 1 is a bit early for queasyness, but if it is a side effect then bleugh *hides*
    I’m happy there is support, and I hope it continues, too… but I guess only time will tell!
    xx

  5. Lola Snow permalink
    October 5, 2008 9:49 am

    Yeah, the sicky feeling does pass though so don’t give up, it is totally worth it. Oh yeah, and Prozac+eating problems=very successful. Its been proven in lots of studies.
    Hang in there Kate, it gets better, I promise. The first couple of weeks are pants, but when the fog lifts you’ll see everything as it should be.
    Lola x

  6. October 5, 2008 10:00 am

    Thank you Lola, I’ll try my best with it, as long as the queasyness is low level, if it gets worse it’ll be hell! And about the eating problem, that’s good too, but I guess I can’t say whether it’ll work for me!
    xx

Trackbacks

  1. Goodbye Mirtazapine… Hello Prozac « SHM: A Simple Harmonic Muddle

Leave a Reply

