Skip to content

How not to run a medical centre

September 30, 2008

So, after the phone debacle my new medical centre has now a few more faux pas’ added to it’s reputation (well, my thoughts about it anyway…)

I tried to register before I arrived, but I’ve had to wait for a medical, meaning my referral is delayed now by 2 weeks at least. So, yesterday I went to see them to make an appointment and this is generally how a conversation goes with them:

Me: Hi I’d like to arrange a new patient medical, I’ve been told I can just come down and have one now?

Lady: Erm, well we can’t do that. Who told you that?

It was a lady from your practice, who’s doing the new registrations at uni

Oh, well you’re going to have to ring up tomorrow morning and book an appointment to see the the nurse *hands me a card with the centre number on it*

*sighs* okay, thanks and I walk out.

Then, we get to this morning: THEY’D GIVEN ME THE WRONG NUMBER ON THE CARD. I am spitting angry, but there’s even better to come!

So, I ring that number, and they give me another number to ring. I ring it and:

Hi I’d like to arrange a new patient medical

Can you do thursday?

I was told I could ring up this morning and have one today

Well all the nurses are at the uni, so it’s going to have to wait

Well, the thing is I really need this referral, and I need this medical, (explain further about everything)

Oh, right, this is an exceptional circumstance then. I’ll just get you one… what about today at x.xx?

Yeah, that’s great thanks *end of conversation*

Then, she rings be back half an hour later saying why haven’t you turned up for your dressings appointment? I wasn’t aware of this, and I don’t even need it. Turns out the receptionist yesterday had still me up when the next person was making their appointment.

This, is organisation! I’m just wondering if my referral will ever go through, if that’s what happens.

Oh, and I think I just blew the game to my flatmates about everything… oh bugger. I’m just wanting to curl up, and the hot water’s going off soon and I think I need a shower. I’ve had 4 hours sleep and although last night was amazing, someone threw coke and sweet wrappers over the floor after I’d gone to bed and it’s just starting to grate how in a morning it’s a pigsty until people get up. Maybe I’m just a freak!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2008 8:46 pm

    Sounds like a nightmare organisation! I only hope when you eventually get your appointment they know who you are! Good luck, I think you are going to need it!

  2. September 30, 2008 11:58 pm

    I went today, and they were lovely, but confidentiality doesn’t seem to exist: shouting down the corridor can you see if this girl’s notes have arrived. And they’ve booked me a double session with a doc for thurs, so we’ll see what happens then.

Leave a Reply

