Skip to content

G’bye Manchester

September 26, 2008

6 weeks ago, I never wanted to see Manchester again, now I can’t bear to leave it!

I’ve said my goodbyes: work, friends, old teachers, places and not said goodbye to some others. I know it’s not permanent, I’ll be back sometime but at the same time, I won’t be here all the time, that’s what really scares me. I’ve been to Fallowfield and see Manchester’s freshers week and am sufficiently bitter about the fact that I can’t drink. I never wanted to wind up this way, one damn drink spelling well, I don’t know what, bad thoughts? Thoughts that I’m having really difficulty quashing right now because I wanted some pear cider.

I want Brum to be different, no ferrying drunk people home because I’m the only one sober enough to make sure everyone gets home. I hate that, and that’s what puts me off night life (that and I’m tired by then!). People keep telling me I’ll find my kind of person there, but what if I don’t? There are so many possible what ifs that I could say, and I don’t know how any of it will happen. I don’t know if I can get that far, I choose to drink and endanger my health, in the hope that one day I’ll come out fine, but I know what I should and shouldn’t be doing.

I should be packing, I haven’t even started and I don’t want to. I don’t want to go to uni, I want to stay in my bubble in my bedroom in Manchester, where I know the script.

And, for Suzy:

And, that’s tidy! I just have a lot of stuff…

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2008 3:43 pm

    Excuse me, missy, have you deleted that post? The one where I may or may not have told a great big fib? 😉 (Is that what you said you were embarrassed about on SHM? If not, what is? I want answers! Answers!)

    Move out sooner rather than later, though; else those shelves are gonna snap and the books will kill you in your sleep. And do we want that? No!

    Suzy x

  2. September 26, 2008 4:03 pm

    No, it’s private. I didn’t feel comfortable with it. I don’t mind it being up, just pics I actually like… I have done it with the last few posts, too, though so it’s not just that one.

    And no, on SHM I meant I knew it was Chouette’s birthday but I’d totally forgotten, then we went into somewhere, and she knew the girl, and the girl said Happy Birthday but I’d totally forgotten and I just stood there like “oops” to Hannah, I’m really embarrassed about it, that’s all, because I’d just read the email about half an hour before :$

    And I do worry about that, when we had an earthquake not so long ago, I was straight under the desk!

    xx

  3. September 26, 2008 4:11 pm

    Eh? You know Chouette in person? And who’s Hannah? – not colouredmind Hannah, do you mean?

    Oh boy oy boy, this stuff is getting positively (negatively?) incestuous… 😉

    Suzy x

  4. September 26, 2008 4:33 pm

    Yes, Chouette and colouredmind…
    There’s nothing incestuous about coffee!
    x

  5. September 26, 2008 5:32 pm

    Oh jeez, that is quite possibly the best quote I’ve heard this month…

    Nothing incestuous about coffee, Kate? Well, just keep telling yourself that. 😉

    Suzy x

  6. September 26, 2008 6:00 pm

    Hey, I meant meeting over coffee.

  7. September 26, 2008 9:05 pm

    Whatevs.

    Suzy x

  8. September 27, 2008 3:35 am

    Eauurghh. I totally had something to say but the fire alarm has gone off again so I just had to run over and turn off the light so I can pretend not to be in so I dont have to evacuate. Yeah the coffee was harmless. But you know what Kate I think we should go on about it to make Suzy become a manchester convert

  9. Alison permalink
    September 27, 2008 8:26 am

    Good Luck, thinking of you x

  10. September 27, 2008 1:50 pm

    Is that your disco light Hannah, or is it fixed?! I think Suzy should come to Manchester, and become incestuous over coffee, like she thinks we have!

    I also had something to say, but people are banging stuff and I can’t get XFM= my brain’s dying of non- exposure! There’s stuff everywhere, and It’s a bit better than I remember. I’ll post in a bit when I’ve found my computer leads!

  11. September 27, 2008 1:52 pm

    Alison, I’m here. Not actually seen anyone yet, but maybe later! I need to talk to people about the kitchen situation, but I’m feeling a bit blargh, and I need to move away from my chair to get my post, apparently I have some already!

  12. September 27, 2008 2:02 pm

    No my light is still disco, but it seems better to have flashing than being in the dark. I was really pleased to move from london Xfm to manchester X fam becasue its the same just different adverts. I think you can get it online though.

  13. September 27, 2008 7:37 pm

    ‘like she thinks we have!’

    Oy! You said it first! Well, I insinuated it, but you proper said it.

    You guys keep going on about Manchester and I promise, I will chuck the might of the Bristolians at you. And then I’ll get the Welsh involved. And as we all know, the Welsh are fiercely patriotic. And blah.

    I won’t really. I’ll just boycott you. 😉 And God knows the boycott has power (or Hannah knows, at least).

    Suzy x

  14. September 28, 2008 3:14 am

    Hannah, XFM does online, so that’s where it’s at! (but some guy on in my flat has a mega woofer and new kings of leon album, so that’s winning right now (literally, it’s all happening here!)

    I don’t mind having all of them chucked at me, I’ve got an army of beer in my fridge that doesn’t belong to me, but everyone’s left after sesh, so, well, by tomorrow I might just not care (although I shouldn’t be drinking, so in theory I might care. There are devoners here so hah!)

    Is this making any sense at all? Maybe I should put the computer down and run away?

    xx

Leave a Reply

