Skip to content

I’m not a plastic bag

September 24, 2008

… but I got to my owner’s home in one!

We all know the bags I’m referring to:

I was hoping to find one of those cloth ones, but google images has failed me, but I think any UK citizen has seen them.

Anyway, there are some things that really, really wind me up about them, including:

If you use it as a hangbag, great, but did you EVER use a plastic bag as a handbag? I think not!

How did you get it home? In a carrier bag… point of bag? Have I missed the point here?

The type of people that have this bag I normally see weighed down by guess what? Carrier bags, of all things!

This one applies more to the cloth one, but they aren’t actually big enough to fit anything in that would mean you wouldn’t take a plastic bag. I have some from france, but they’re huge, so whatever I do, food or clothes shopping I don’t take a bag.

I hate this fashion trend, whatever happened to doing something for the environment for the sake of it instead of for fashion and when the trend’s over bin the bags that aren’t plastic bags.

In the Lakes at the weekend, EVERY shop sold them, but it seems more like a game for me: as many as you can get… We have a nice one, but I swear it’s nearly broken and we’ve only had it a day!

Okay, rant over. I think I need to calm down!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2008 11:41 pm

    You see I quite like them in the idea but somehow they just are not that practicle foor food stuff but good as a handbag. Incidently sainsbrys who make the one pictured are going to stop having plastic bags at the counter and are going to make you ask. Hannah X

  2. September 25, 2008 12:40 pm

    I like the idea, too, for food shopping use and I’d say clothing as well, although it’s not exactly good to mix clothes and food! I think the point I was trying to get across was that when people use them as a fashion statement they’re not helping the environment. I guess I just interpret them as rules when you can be a bit flexible!

  3. September 25, 2008 3:35 pm

    Well, if they use them, they are still helping the environment, even if they only got them for the look. The motive doesn’t change the fact they’re saving bags!

    It’s like the plastic wristbands that were so big a couple years ago (that I still wear). People generally bought them for the scene but teh money still went to the charities.

    *gets off soapbox*

    Suzy x

  4. September 25, 2008 4:25 pm

    But, Suzy, they’re not! (well from what I’ve seen anyway…) They still have their mitts full of plastic bags, but just have a handbag saying that, when in reality they wouldn’t be using it as a plastic bag!

Leave a Reply

