Skip to content

Ha, you thought that was simple?

September 16, 2008

Or, should I call it why does one person tell you one thing, whilst another person tells you another?

What I was told:

My counsellor from ‘that place in town’ rang my doctor’s surgery to be on friday to seek out how I could get referral to the mental health team down there. She was informed that if I rang them, they’d be happy to send me the pack out.

What happened in reality: (italic is the lady on the phone)

“you can pick up registration packs from the university”

I don’t live in Birmingham, and I’m not moving for another 2 weeks, and we wanted to sort everything out before I get there.

“So are you an Aston student, then?”

Yes, I’m starting there this year, but (long explanation about my situation)

“So are you wanting a referral then?”

NO!!!!! I want to register with you, I don’t have a doctor in Birmingham and I need to register so I can get my referrals sent through, and I’ve been told that you can send me a registration pack out. X from X PCT rang you on Friday afternoon, and you said it would be fine.

“Oh, right. Hmm. I’m just going to speak to my colleague”

She puts me on hold for FIVE minutes, and it’s an 0845 number, my bank account is hurting!

She comes back

“Okay, so you want to register with us? What you need to do is send us an envelope with your address on”

Okay, I’ll do that, what’s your address?

“Yeah, it’s 57-69 X Street Birmingham”

So, 57-69 X Street Birmingham

“yes and the postcode’s B4 7TA”

Okay, so 57-69 X Street Birmingham B4 7TA

“No, it’s 67- 69”

Er, okay, then (getting a bit confused by now)

And it’s X Medical Centre

Okay. I’ll get that in the post now, thank you, bye!

Am I overreacting, or were there a lot of misunderstandings in that phonecall? I’m so bloody angry, but I should be used to nothing being as simple as it seems. Then I went to try and post the envelope, but the queue for the post office was out the door. Hopefully, by the time this is released, I’ll have got my mitts on a post office and be jollily on my way to work for another fun day getting whined at by customers because their melamine plates blew up or prices have changed since they were last in… can you tell I love my job?!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2008 9:24 pm

    Sounds like a farce and someone should take a lesson in dealing with the public on the phone!

    Enjoy the job… everyone loves there job! 😉

  2. September 16, 2008 9:36 pm

    I love my job. I love my job. I love my job.

    Sorry, it’s not working. Today I spent 6 hours in conditions good as outside (warehouse door wide open, wind swirling in) hanging clothes. I love my job. I love my job. I love my job.

Leave a Reply

