Skip to content

The Sims

September 13, 2008

Having found the base CDs for The Sims, whilst clearing out my grandad’s house, I think it’s pretty safe to say I’ve become addicted: watching myself run someone else’s life enthralls my controlling side, and makes me happy (the game is designed to do that), but I have a question: why do I enjoy this?

I’m happy to sit clicking various household items and choose an action repeatedly, and make the sim have a successful life, great, but when I think about how I’m making them hold it together, I’m wondering why it isn’t simple enough for me to do it with my own life?! Maybe it’s the little bars, which actually tell me what I need to do, and if I didn’t display them, things would go down the pan? It’s perhaps something to try… But back to the main point: is it purely because I’m human and happy things for other people makes me happy? I’m not so sure… or is it that I’m just mind numbing myself enough that watching the character dance around my screen for hours on end enjoys me? So, is it the child in me, or the human aspect? I think I’ve worked out: I need to find my own little display bars with those headings on them (comfort, energy, hunger, fun, social etc) and fulfill them, then I too will be successful like my sim… won’t I? Or is it not that simple?

So, I’ve set myself a little challenge: although I keep mood diaries for most of my time, I’m going to try and rate myself on these catagories. I’m not sure how long this will last, because I’m generally rubbish at keeping to things, and even carrying my notepad around with me doesn’t guarantee I’ll successfully complete this!

So, I better get going…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2008 6:43 pm

    ‘These categories’ as in ‘urgent need to urinate’?

    Mate, you are gonna get some interesting search terms if you do that… 😉

    Incidentally, Aberystwyth is only properly interesting when I say it in my own charming voice and confuse all the non-Welsh speaking kiddies in my class. Aberestweth all the way!

    Suzy x

  2. September 14, 2008 6:44 pm

    Forgot to add…

    Alternatively, just Aber. And mess with their heads by using local slang. :mrgreen:

    Suzy x

  3. September 14, 2008 6:59 pm

    You’ve got me wetting myself about the urgent to urinate part… maybe I do need to urinate, but anyway, aside. Yes, well, the piece of paper still needs to be written on, but tbh, I’m considering putting that down now, just for well, fun… then I’ll take a photo and post it, just because!

    And, I should have written that in my welsh accent, but I think it only works when spoken, and you don’t want to hear that!

    I haven’t been down there since my gran died, so what 03? Maybe it’s changed…

Leave a Reply

