Skip to content

Amongst a sea of anger

September 4, 2008

I’m feeling quite calm today, which is pretty unusual for whatever’s been happening recently. I’ve been boiling over the last 2 weeks, so I thought I’d do something a bit different… on the subject of cookies!

I was going to do fish, but then realised 2 potential problems: I no longer have any photos of them because my computer died and I lost the pictures, and also right now it’s raining rather a lot, and I don’t want to get wet.

So, instead I’ll write about my cookies. In fact, writing this has made me want to make some, but I am currently ingredientless and need to go to meditation to cure my depression soon. (WTF is the correct response here!)

Here is a picture:

Decorated Cookies

Decorated Cookies

If you are bored, you can decorate like above, but you can eat them plain like below:

Undecorated cookies

Undecorated cookies

Whichever way, I love them… and this is the recipe… it’s good to get anger out of you (mostly directed at OCD parents who have panic attacks because the kitchen is messy, pans have been used and it’s generally a bit of a mess, even though you have vowed to clean it all up!)

Ingredients

300g plain (all purpose) flour

(for double choc chip use 250g flour and 50g cocoa powder)

½ teaspoon bicarbonate of soda (baking soda)

1 teaspoon fine salt

170g unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly

215g light brown sugar

120g granulated white sugar

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 large egg

1 large egg yolk

150g milk chocolate chips and 150g white choc chips (I use plain :p)

Method

Sift together flour, bicarbonate of soda and salt. Set aside

Stir together with melted butter, brown sugar, sugar and vanilla. Add egg, then the yolk. Beat well to ensure that the egg is evenly distributed. Stir in dry ingredients, then fold in chocolate chips until incorporated. It will look as if there are too many chocolate chips but the dough will be able to hold them all. Cover with clingfilm until firm. At least 30 mins.

Preheat the oven to 190 ̊C/Gas mark 5

Drop ¼ cup sized “hockey puck shaped” mounds of dough onto a greased baking sheet. You can use a slipmat sheet instead of greasing which works very well. I use a ¼ measuring cup to measure shape and shape of the dough which works perfectly (can you tell I didn’t?!)

Bake in a preheated oven for approximately 10-12 minutes or only until the edges begin to turn golden. (they’ll look and feel underdone but they’re ready!) Cool on the sheet for 1 minute and remove with a wide spatula to a cooling rack. Cool thoroughly and enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2008 6:44 pm

    Ohh. They look lovely. My diet though is generally restricted to whatevers already prepared in the fridge sandwiches, canned or mircowave food, oh and jelly because I am such a useless cook. Hannah X

  2. September 4, 2008 8:19 pm

    It’s the only thing I can cook, which seems to suggest my uni diet will be ready meals (which don’t always go right!) and cookies. Hmm, someone’s going to put on weight…
    x

Leave a Reply

